You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [ Support Internet Freedom ]

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Do you mean the issue of merely booting Linux distros? I bought my Laptop in winter of 2016, with preinstalled Widows 8. Not Lenovo but Acer, though. It turned out to be necessary to disable safe boot first in order to boot any Linux distro.

Sort:  

I have a Lenovo with Windows 10. Can I remove Windows 10 and replace it with Linux?

You should be able to do this. Before installing Linux you should disable UEFI secure boot,


I reckon you are a beginner with Linux. If that is the case, choose a popular and easy distro like Linux Mint or Ubuntu Mate.

If I follow the steps in the video and then install a distro like Linux Mint will this give me more security and privacy?

It depends what aspects of security are important to you. Free and open source software in general gives more economic securityas it provides you with acces to a PC even when you do not have money for buying a next version of a proprietary OS like Windows. Moreover, by not relying on centralized corporations like Microsoft you limit the likelyhood of your failure when they fail.
When it comes to anonymity, it is Tails OS which is recommended by Wikileaks for sources, https://wikileaks.org/-Leaks-.html#submit_help_tips
You can download Tails from https://tails.boum.org/

Thanks jerzy.
I appreciate you sharing your knowledge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66