Dinner with @yabapmatt in Saint Petersburg, Florida!

in #life6 years ago

B36DF27E-AA80-45EE-8C91-47F0FEC431FD.jpeg

After months of collaborating on Steem, @yabapmatt and I enjoyed meeting for the first time yesterday downtown in Saint Petersburg, Florida (USA)! We took this quick photo together (technically Matt's wife took it) after a lovely dinner at the Sundial with our families!

We got dinner at Locale Market as seen at https://localegourmetmarket.com/ which made eating with our two children easier because each was able to run around outside. I spent about half the time with my daughter Madeleine riding up and down the escalators while Matt and I enjoyed a few minutes to talk about life and Steem together.

What surprised me was the amazing timing for this! Matt was not planning in advance to be near me and ended up messaging me on discord from https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ the night before he might be in town. I did not even see his message until the next day and managed to meet him within a few hours of seeing it! The main casualty was @laurabanfield's yoga session which she opted to skip to help with entertaining our daughter because without her we would have spent 100% of the time riding an escalator up and down! As is, we rode is so many times the security guard asked us to stop.

2AA641CB-5BA6-47D8-9DCD-EC034D8AB666.jpeg

I thought to share this because it helps us a lot to make deeper relationships with each other when we meet up in person! Steem has been more effective than anything else I have used online for building new relationships and I am grateful for the chance to meet @yabapmatt in person after months of working together on Steem starting with his Steem bot tracker at https://steembottracker.com/.

@yabapmatt is one of the witnesses I am voting for at https://steemit.com/~witnesses. Matt is a full time working father interested in doing Steem full time someday. Will we help him and thousands more of us make the leap to Steem full time because I like this most days better than a "real job?"

Love,
Jerry Banfield

Sort:  

Well done ..
Good for you, thanks for sharing your experience with us
Great post‏

Hello Jerry!
I have been a fan of yours since the first day i saw one of your videos on youtube. I myself joined steemit already back in 2016,but found you only about 3 months ago.
What you do to help Steemit is incredible,hope to meet you one day!

Thank you @edgarsart for building our community here for us before I arrived and for finding me here after following on YouTube! I hope we will have a chance to meet in person too! Will you remind me of this post because it will help me remember?

That would awesome! Sure:)
Maybe i could draw a portrait of you,how you like this idea?

First time I know there’s another Petersburg in Florida , USA ( other than the city in Russia) 😀😆😍
Thanks for the info.. and Enjoy your stay @jerrybanfield
EC526D54-922A-4A90-B114-B63CD2391A0F.jpeg
@josteem

Yeah, and it has palm trees and warm weather too ... mostly unlike the other Saint Petersburg
stpetersburg.jpg

Yeah .. difinately opposit lol

thats great :)

As said by someone “People change,things change,time changes, priorities change,but expectations always remain the same” .

Nothing is permanent in life-not even the company of your loved ones. We need to understand the fact that every person we meet is there to accompany us in a particular phase of life. It is very rear that friends we make in childhood have same goals, same thoughts like us. So it is obvious that they will be on different path from us. *So as the time changes paths change because goals change. Now since they are on a different path with different goals so it is obvious that they will meet new people- “People with common path and common goal”. So now priorities change. But one thing that didn’t changed over the time was our expectation. Expectations always remain the same. Despite of this great change- “Change in time” we still expect that person to behave same as he used to behave years ago. Instead of changing our expectations we change our perception that person has changed. But they have not.
So, they have not forgotten you but their current priorities regarding their life goal might have changed. They are now more in touch with new people on same journey than you. Try to remain in touch of your friends but remember one thing “Good friends always occupy a special place in heart even if you are out of touch for years.”

Happy Reading :)

More than wonderful !
have you @shihabieee composed these lines yourself of it is borrowed from another. I am asking because I wanna ask your permossion to copy these words and use them whenever it is needed , can I?

That is definitely very cool-- and one of the great things about Steemit. It was also one of the things that drew me here in the first place: The dept of connections here seemed so much deeper and more authentic than I had experienced on other social media platforms. Whether that's because it requires a certain mindset to really grasp what's going on here I don't know... but I am very grateful for it, and it's what keeps me plugging along still, after some 14 months here.

Realized it's been a while since I last checked my witness votes... and having watched both of you work in the community for a while, votes no. 28 and 29 just went to @jerrybanfield and @yabatmatt.

@denmarkguy
You are definitely right.. depth of connection here is amazing.. I really have the family-like feeling here .. my steem family 😍❤️
@josteem

Hello @denmarkguy

You had just hit the point...

The dept of connections here seemed so much deeper and more authentic than I had experienced on other social media platforms.

Yes I totally agree with you. You are so very right. No social media platform has enabled people to built real deep and sincere connections than steemit. This is the truth that's so real so practicable.

@eurogee, the founder of @euronation community & The Host, Show Us Your Witnesses Weekly Contest

Sorry for interrupting ..please do me a favor
My sbd got stolen by https://steemit.com/@good-kama

I post about this theft just few minute ago.. since you have a great follower . So it wil help to warned everyone..

Here is my post regarding thief. I dont need upvote . Please resteemed this. For every account safety
https://steemit.com/money/@james-09aka/theft-on-steemit-steemit-is-not-safe-it-is-not-a-joke

Yes we will help him.... it's always nice when two steemians meet up to talk about life and the progress of steemit as a whole ... I believe building relationships shouldn't only be on discord or steemit.chat , we can build relationships with one another with meetings etc .... it's even better when 2 whales meet up , that way we know something good is definitely coming out of that ...

Me too ... I am in 👍🏼

It’s sad I couldn’t get to see the little girl’s face. Looks like y’all had a good time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87