The real face of minimalism

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Minimalism.jpg

I used to think that minimalism is a crazy lifestyle of having nothing but a toothbrush in your apartment. No furniture, no tableware, no decorations. Minimalism has always appeared to me as an extremely frugal way of living.

As I have been decluttering my apartment, I started reading books on essentialism, time management and habits and to my surprise, most of them mentioned perks of minimalism. That caught my attention, and I decided to read a bit more about it. Unexpectedly I realised that my perception was quite distorted. So, what is minimalism?

Minimalism concentrates on what is important. Getting rid of possessions, toxic people, wrong surroundings indeed can be a part of a lifestyle, but it is only up to you to decide what to keep. You certainly don't need to live in a car and have the famous 33-item capsule wardrobe to become a minimalist. As I have been studying people’s relationship with possessions I concluded that minimalism is not about the number of things you have, but their meaningfulness. While Marie Kondo method tells you to keep what sparks joy, minimalism begs a question 'Do I really need this?'. It is truly hard to part with things and even harder with people, but I have learned that it brings a lot of space to what matters.

Famous minimalism ambassadors Joshua Fields Millburn and Ryan Nicodemus have pointed out that every lifestyle is unique:

'There are many flavours of minimalism: a 20-year-old single guy’s minimalist lifestyle looks different from a 45-year-old mother’s minimalist lifestyle. Even though everyone embraces minimalism differently, each path leads to the same place: a life with more time, more money, and more freedom to live a more meaningful life'.

It is important to mention that minimalism goes hand in hand with vegetarianism, zero-waste lifestyle and share economy. Although I am not ready to go zero-waste, I believe that we should have an understanding of how we impact the environment.

If you want to learn more about minimalism you can follow the links below to find videos and books that I find informative:

'Essentialism: The Disciplined Pursuit of Less' by Greg McKeown

'Minimalism: Live a Meaningful Life' by Joshua Fields Millburn, Ryan Nicodemus

Sort:  

We are very easy to get caught up in pointless thoughts about unimportant things. Currently, all we are faced with a huge number of meaningless decisions, not least because of the easy access to the Internet. These unwanted thoughts cause us stress and just spend our time, not allowing you to succeed.Zuckerberg, Bransons, managers of global hedge funds are the same things, eat the same meals and trying to work in the same few places. View old videos of Steve jobs, and you'll notice that he always wears the same black turtleneck. Minimalism seems to be a feature of many world leaders in the field of technology. Famous singers and artists have the time to look fashionable, but the General Directors of large companies often can't afford it.Although this is not a question of lack of time. A minimalist lifestyle allows you to spend more time on important decisions.

I agree with you. As for the artists, I think being fashionable is part of their job. Even for them, it is essential to stay focused to get successful in the area.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70