Saying Goodbye to an Old Friend

in #life6 years ago

"Another point in our life leads to gaining new friends or leaving others but we should not forget them and still be friends even though we're far apart."

1.jpg

This is the story about my Japanese friend in my previous work in a company in Laguna.

We call him in the name of Takahashi San, if my memory serves me right Takahashi is his surname and San is just a salutation or as a sign of respect when addressing someone. One of our conversation leads me asking him what is the meaning of his surname and he said that "Taka" means High and "Hashi" means Bridge so his surname means High Bridge and that is something to respect of.
Even though his nationality differs from us, we show him a lot of hospitality and understanding for he had hard times explaining some of the task or activities we are going to do. We should speak English a little slower and directly to the point on what you are trying to tell him. One thing you'll be amaze of him is he knows a lot of Tagalog words so we don't speak any bad words or offensive language in front of him.
Even though he look like a grandfather of mine this man is still very energetic and active. He can still lift heavy loads or materials in our working area and can still tell some jokes afterwards. He is very kind to us that's why he is one unique friend to have, especially when he got back after vacation from his home in Japan, he bring us some chocolates as "pasalubong".
Even though he has high salary and position on his work he is still hardworking and value every second of time spent in our company. We had a lot of good times together as co-worker and as friends and even though we'll be far apart and has different direction in life he'll be still a friend of mine.

Saying Goodbye

Last February 15, 2018 I decided to resign in my position as a Technician in our company and as a support on the part of Takahashi San. This is not a new situation for lots of others had already done this decision before me. Hearing this, Takahashi San offered me a somewhat called " Bye bye Party" (lol) in Filipino we call this "despedida" if someone is leaving a place or work. So we had a conversation regarding it and scheduled it so that Takahashi San can be free of his schedule. Afterwards we finalize at last who, where and when will be the party. He decide to take us in a Japanese restaurant and take note he'll treat us there.
4.jpg
The Japanese arrangement in the resto is on experience to have. Everyone sat on a pillow and a table is at the middle while our feet are inside that table and the foods are great. I'm sorry I don't have the pictures because they just want me to enjoy my last day with them celebrating. He dare me to try Sashimi with Wasabi which is a raw meat of fish and other seafood in a platter.
3.jpg
The ambiance is the resto is really good and relaxing. I also would like to bring my daughter and my wife in this place to try different Japanese dishes, no need to go to Japan.
2.jpg
Unfortunately that time, I'm taking maintenance medicine that is why I just drink calamansi juice while they are enjoying a big mug of beer.
We had a great time even though it is a way of saying good bye and I'am very thankful that I had friend like Takahashi San.

All photos are mine.

Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
You can also give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Please support his project as well, which is @teardrops Smart Media Token.

Please also support others too!

@paradise-found, @beanz, @teamsteem, @good-karma, @busy.org, @esteemapp, @hr1, @arcange @bayanihan, @acidyo, @anomadsoul, @steemitph, @henry-grant.
They are all kind and have been a big help for all of us.

Sort:  

Such a good boss and friend. I've heard that Japanese people really are very industrious when it comes to work and you have just proved me that. 😁 How was the sashimi?

the raw fish meet is good but some of my fellow workers don't like it that much..lol

Hey @jeffzalamea, thanks for sharing! So many things out there to be happy for and about. Always keep staying positive! Thanks for a nice post! Cheers

thanks for dropping by I hope you'll be a friend of mine too.. lol

What a beautiful soul your boss is. Stay grateful po :)

He is a very down to earth person. Thanks for dropping by.

You’re so lucky and blessed sir to have a boss like him. He’s such a good and a down to earth person. There’s a good in goodbyes, it will help you to explore more and know yourself more! Your boss will surely be your inspiration aside from your family. 😊😊😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95