The Pyramids of Giza - Must see before you die

in #life7 years ago (edited)

So I made a last minute decision to fly from Rome to Cairo in January last year. I've always had an interest in Ancient history, and how civilisation has evolved up until now. My father had always told me that if you want to see the most spectacular relics of Ancient history, and step back in time, Rome and Egypt are the places to go.

Cairo 5A.jpg
The Great pyramid of Giza on the right

When I landed, there was a sand storm that had just hit Cairo. It was cold, windy, and sand filled the air. The Sand was abrassive, as it brushed past your face. God forbid you were riding a motor bike when the sand storm hit. You wouldnt be able to even open your eyes.

So I arrived at my hostel, and found out that it was a rooftop hostel, with no roof! It had great views of the city scapes.

Cairo1a.jpg

Cairo 2A.jpg

Cairo 3A.jpg

I met a few travellers at the hostel, but most of these travellers, were low budget low maintenance types, that were hanging out in Cairo for a few weeks, saving money.

On my second day, I booked a day trip to the pyramids. There are actually 3 different pyramid sites around Cairo. The oldest pyramid being in the pyramid of Djoser in Saqqara. It is 4600 years old! and still standing.

Since the "Arab Spring" uprising that overthrew the Egyptian government in 2011, the Egyptian economy is in trouble. half of their GDP was sourced from tourism. But after the government was overthrown, Egypt became a borderline dangerous place to stay, so a lot of tourists have stopped visiting. Its been estimated that before 2011, Cairo itself used to have 10,000 daily tourists visit per day. Now there are only 300 visiting per day. People in Egypt are all desperate for money. You could "feel the desperate vibe" coming from them as you walked the streets. It was quite a shame really. I felt sorry for them.

Egypt is rich in history, and culture. If you are interested or fascinated in human history, this is a "must see before you die".

I hope you enjoyed my brief post :)

(All photos in this post were taken on my Samsung J7 Phone Camera)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57