Would you ever take someone else's medicine?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I know you're probably thinking that you definitely wouldn't.

You'd be right to think that too.

Taking medicine that you are not prescribed can lead to serious consequences.

It can definitely bad for your health.


Source: Giphy.com

However, an interesting incident occurred to me last week.

I've been having some issues with my gums and teeth.

It seems that despite having perfect teeth my whole life I've now inherited some sort of periodontal disease from my parents.

A few months ago half of one of my teeth fell out and now they want to pull the other one and I have an abscess in my gum.

My boss, as it turns out, does not take antibiotics.

However, he does not throw out the antibiotics that he is prescribed by the doctor.

I guess he always wants to try to get over an infection without the use of antibiotics if he can and then he'll use the antibiotics if he absolutely needs to.

Last week he brought me two different prescriptions of antibiotics.

One was Azithromycin and the other was Amoxicillin.

Azithromycin is used to treat general flu type symptoms but Amoxicillin is used for dental infections.

Nevertheless I made an appointment with my dentist and paid $110 for an exam only to be prescribed Amoxicillin.

I took the fresh dose that I was prescribed and not the one that was a few months old that was given to me by my boss.

However, it really made me think.

Would you ever take someone else's medicine?

Follow me @jeezzle

Sort:  

Never. I don't like taking pills in general.

You probably would want to take some pills if you had a tooth infection.

True, but only if they are prescribed. Even then, I don't like them.

If the medicine was in date and was made by a reputable pharmaceutical company (does such a thing even exist?) then I would 100% take someone else's medicine. Some drugs such as diazepan can be very useful if taken before a job interview for example or if you are in a lot of pain some of the stronger prescription only painkillers are much better than the over the counter stuff. The great thing about the internet is that it is easy to determine the correct/safe dose to take of any drug you might need so as long as you know what you are taking is the real deal and if you are extra cautious you could take a control dose to make sure you are not allergic etc. Why would you pay a doctor to write you a prescription? It's a big con anyway. I don't want to give money to any pharma company if I can help it.

No I would never take someone else medicine.

brother i will resteem your post in my blog
please halp me brother i join on steemit in this month

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Oct 31. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.07 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 31 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I considered it before. But I was too scared of the consequences, especially since the prescription was for somebody over twice my size.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66