Why are some people so stingy during the holidays?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Working at a restaurant you can really tell right away whether or not somebody is stingy.

That's because people will leave you a tip if you provide even marginally good service.


Source: Giphy.com

Better service means getting a better tip most of the time.

That's a good thing because we all work on tips...... and we don't get paid outside of tips.

Every two weeks we get a check that says void on it because, while technically we do get a couple of dollars per hour, that money goes to pay our taxes.

During the holiday season you would expect people who go out to eat to be really generous with their money.

Certainly if you're having a good time with your friends on a Saturday night and I'm working on getting your food out........and holiday music is playing while you drink your beers all merry like........then maybe you might be more likely to leave a good tip?

In my experience exactly the opposite happens.


Source: Giphy.com

People come out to eat but they are really strapped for cash. Nevertheless they want to have fun for the holidays....... but they don't have money to tip their waiter the way they're supposed to.

"I don't see what the big deal is....... nobody tips me at my job."

I've certainly heard this one a few times from people during the holidays that don't feel like they should have to leave a tip whatsoever.

Do you get paid at your job? because I don't. The only money I make is coming from the tip that you aren't leaving me.

Therefore that argument can't hold its ground.

Now don't get me wrong. Every now and then around this time of year somebody will come in and leave you a great tip.


Source: Giphy.com

These are usually regular customers that you've waited on many times.

It's unfortunate that people who don't know you very well during the holidays are unlikely to leave you a good tip due to them being stingy...... or due to some other unknown reason.

If you can't afford to tip your waiter...... then maybe instead of going out to eat you can pick up your food.

We do have a carry out service and there are plenty of places that do.

Having said that not tipping your waiter is the same as you going to work.......... working for several hours and not getting paid........... and then having someone say "Hey nobody pays me when I work on my car, why should I pay somebody else to work on it."

It's logic that makes no sense whatsoever.

I like the holidays a lot and some people are actually really cool during the holidays...... but there are those stingy types.

Why are some people so stingy during the holidays?

Sort:  

Right. If you are strapped for cash, you wouldn't go out to a restaurant in the first place.

Really good job bro carry on thanks i like this post

What goes around comes around... the saying goes. A lot of these skimpy tippers are just ignorant about how you earn your money. And I guess the rest are just cheap. Have a great X-mas and a Steeming good year @jeezzle

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61065.80
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53