What is the best moisturizer for dry skin right now?

in #life7 years ago

Winter is coming and it's time to start thinking about moisturizer.

There are a whole heck of a lot of moisturizers on the market but they're not all the same.

Some of them are greasy.

Some of them are smelly.

A lot of them have a perfume smell that a man wouldn't like to wear.

Several of them make typing uncomfortable for fear of smearing grease all over your keyboard.

That's not all, of course, but many of them don't work as good as others.

There are hand moisturizers that cost as much as $20 or $30.

You can also find moisturizers for as little as $2.

I found quite an assortment at Walmart and so I decided to do a little looking and decide which one was best.

First of all Walmart has its own brand called Equate which sells a generic version of most of the moisturizers that are on the market already.

If you look at the reviews of any Equate moisturizer you will always find that it says it works just as good as the name brand. However, in my experience that has not necessarily proven to be the case even when it has exactly the same ingredients.

My case in point here would be Cetaphil moisturizer which is my personal favorite although it is expensive.

Cetaphil moisturizer costs $11.22.

It works great, it has very little smell, the smell that it does have is not offensive at all, and it doesn't leave a greasy feeling on your skin.

Equate sells a version that looks exactly the same and has the same ingredients.

It is nearly half the price at $6.47.

It has very little smell and it is not very greasy.

Given that it has exactly the same ingredients listed it should feel exactly the same but it doesn't.

Equate brand of Cetaphil moisturizer leaves your hands feeling chalky like there is a powder on them.

It goes on the same as the Cetaphil one does but it doesn't smell like the Cetaphil one...... in fact it smells like nothing at all.

After a few minutes though instead of soaking in and going away it leaves your hands with a very powdery feel which is incredibly uncomfortable to me.

I ended up taking my bottle back and returning it for the Cetaphil one which is something that I never do..... but I just couldn't justify spending $6.47 on a completely full bottle of moisturizer that I wasn't going to use.

There's another good quality brand that is fairly expensive called Cerave.

A lot of people swear by this moisturizer and I think it works pretty good too but I just don't like it as much as Cetaphil.

You can see that it is priced at $11.22 which is the same price is Cetaphil.

Given that, I will get Cetaphil every time.

The Equate version of Cerave is $8.98 which is considerably more expensive than the Equate version of Cetaphil.

I didn't try the Equate version of Cerave. It may work just as good as the original but I have found out now that the Equate version doesn't always work as good as the original so I am kind of not really wanting to take chances when prices are in this range.

Next on the lineup is a wide variety of Vaseline products.

I have sitting right next to my desk a large green bottle of Vaseline with Aloe moisturizing lotion that I bought last year.

Even though the year before last this same type of Vaseline had a really nice subtle smell last time I bought this bottle the smell was extremely perfumey and overpowering.

Subsequently I read that Vaseline changed the formulas on many of their moisturizing lotions. They no longer work as well and they no longer smell as good as they used to.

I simply can't put on a moisturizing lotion that makes me smell like perfume.

To me a slight subtle odor is OK but it can't be overwhelming.

I can tell you that the Green Vaseline with Aloe is not usable for me anymore with the current formula.

The pictured bottle of Vaseline here is one with Cocoa Butter which I think smells slightly better now than the Aloe one but still has a strong smell.

Vaseline comes in a wide variety of options. However, if you read reviews now you'll see that everyone is pretty much upset by the fact that they changed their formula.

I can no longer recommend Vaseline to anyone unless you don't mind the smell.

Does it work good as a moisturizing lotion?

Not nearly as good as something like Cetaphil but it is much cheaper at $5.24.

Next up is Jergens moisturizing lotion.

Jergens gives me a rash so it is certainly not my favorite.

I mentioned in a previous post that I have sensitive skin.

I think a lot of people have sensitive skin especially in the winter.

It's possible Jergens may work well for you. It certainly is a comfortable feeling lotion although it is slightly greasy in my opinion.

Jergens has a good price point at $5.64.

It tends to get good reviews and I know a lot of people that swear by Jergens but for me it's a bit greasy and I don't love the smell although it's not terrible. It definitely does give me a rash though.

The final moisturizer I'm going to review is by Suave.

Suave is the cheapest moisturizer that I have seen.

There are three different varieties.

Advanced Therapy, Coconut, and Smoothing.

The Advanced Therapy had a smell that I did not really care for. It was slightly overly perfumey but not nearly as bad as some of the other ones.

The Coconut one also had a strong smell but it was a really good smell and I can definitely imagine myself using it.

I believe the Smoothing one is probably a Cocoa Butter variety. I didn't like the smell of it either.

The reviews online are all good and this lotion doesn't appear to be particularly greasy although it isn't probably one that would work as well as more expensive brands.

If you're in the market for something cheap or perhaps you need to keep a lotion at work....and you want everyone else to be able to use it then I think Suave is a good choice for you.

For me.... I'm probably going to stick with Cetaphil although I might go with Cerave if I have a change of mind. If I want something for work I'll probably pick up a bottle of Suave since it's cheap and works pretty good.

There are also lot of other good choices that I don't have pictures of.

St. Ives has a moisturizer that everybody seems to be fond of and I think it sells for $4 or $5.

I know several people like Nivea moisturizer but personally I think it is as greasy as anything could possibly be and the smell isn't something that I really care for either.

Aquaphor has a moisturizer that a lot of people like too....but to me it just seems really like Vaseline petroleum jelly.

Dove even has couple moisturizers out there but they seem to be heavily scented.

There are a heck of a lot of options out there.

Some are cheap. Some are expensive. Some moisturize well. Some not so well. Some have a strong perfume smell. Some don't smell like anything.

The choice is up to you.

What is the best moisturizer for dry skin right now?

Sort:  

There are so many products but I am using vaseline since I was 7 years old.

most of the moisturizers are the same, for me those that do not have a very strong smell are the best

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Sep 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.76 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Sep 10 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.08
ETH 2628.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46