What do you do when the big boss comes around?

in #life7 years ago

Most of us have a big boss.

The main person in charge.

If you don't then it either means you don't have a job, or you work for yourself, or you are the big boss....... in which case.... congratulations.

For me the big boss is the district manager for my restaurant organization.


Source: Giphy.com

Let's call him Darrell for the purpose of this exercise.

Nobody enjoys having Darrell around and when he shows up it's very upsetting.

I've seen him pull someone in the office and scream at him at the top of his lungs.

That person quit.

I've seen him tell someone that their hand is fine after they smashed it and that they should wait before going to the hospital.

They were then told when they finally went to the hospital 2 weeks later that if only they had come earlier their hand could have been fixed correctly.

Of course Darrell didn't want them to get workers comp.

That costs the business money.

The thing is we run a very busy restaurant and every shift means hundreds of people coming in to eat all at once.

The moment Darrell walks in though we all know that we have to not only run around and do our best but also meet and fix his every whim.

It should be noted that Darrell is a giant bodybuilder who often brags about being able to bench press over 500 lb.

He calls people like myself boy and puts his hand on your shoulder as though he is more important than you are.

When it comes to this particular restaurant he is more important simply because he makes more money than I do and also because he has a higher title.

However, when it comes to being human beings no one is more important than anyone else and I really can't stand his attitude.

He's even had me scrub the floor boards all around the building for no reason whatsoever other than the fact that he was able to do it.

He even told me to use degreaser without using a rag so that I could really get my hands into it.

Degreaser is very painful against your bare skin because it removes the grease from whatever it touches and dries out your skin like nothing else.

Also, I would never rub my raw hand against wood.

Can you imagine being told that?

It's funny because we all do our best to make money and some people make a lot more than others but instead of being happy to make a lot of money they are complete jerks.


Source: Giphy.com

So as soon as I see Daryl I continue doing what I'm already doing but I try to do it even faster and if there's even a second of down time I make sure that I am scrubbing something.

For some reason he would rather see you scrubbing something or unloading dishes then talking to the guests at your table and making sure they're enjoying themselves.

I think it's because he wants to see you getting your hands dirty.

He loves watching people get their hands dirty.

So if you have a big boss I have to ask you this question....

What do you do when the big boss comes around?

Sort:  

Good, I've seen him pull someone in the office and scream at him at the top of his lungs.

"Darrell" seems like a huge jerk. In the fast food industry most of the time big bosses don't come around because they can't afford to have another person being paid.

I'd add in some 'special sauce' to his food if i ever had to serve it, probably a diuche move but meh :p

I'm sure i've read somewhere in the news that a guy has once ejaculated into his bosses coffee for years haha..

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.21 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64122.04
ETH 2745.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66