We have a new guest at our house.

in #life7 years ago

He's sleeping on the couch this week.

It looks like he drove in from out of town.

It turns out he's friends with the new roommate.

There was a knock on my door around midnight 2 nights ago.

"Hey my buddy is coming into town so I'm going to let him sleep on the couch for a week. You don't mind do you?"

Of course he was already in the car driving so it didn't matter what I said at that point because he was going to arrive in the morning.

The guy seems like a bit of slacker and weed smoker.

I guess as long he only stays for 7 days it's not so bad but I really don't appreciate the idea of someone staying without asking me in my own house.

It seems strange to me that this roommate that just moved in a week ago decided to have a friend come stay with us for 7 days.

I mean this is a guy that I don't know in my house with all of my stuff who was apparently given a key and comes as he pleases.

I've never met this guy and I don't know him.

I just feel like there's a huge matter of respect here and it's difficult to find a good roommate because today's world doesn't seen to teach respect very often.

We have a new guest at our house.

I'm not feeling particularly good about it either.

Follow me @jeezzle

Sort:  

Are you the lease holder? If so you can simply deny it. Honestly personal boundaries and property should be respected and you shouldn't feel bad about protecting yourself. Giving a key to a random stranger seems rather odd.

We're renting the house and don't on the lease.

Well that sucks. Best of luck with a precarious situation.

That really stinks. You should have been asked. Last time we had a guest stay was one was on my husband's relatives. I had to stay in the bedroom 3 days because he smoked cigarettes in the house and I couldn't breath. Some people are so rude.

There's definitely an amount of respect that needs to be considered among people living together.

If your gut is telling you this is not good or safe don't let him! Never ignore your gut!

My gut is telling me he's okay....... it's just annoying.

Might be time to set some future rules..

I like toast 🍞

Nice to read, but so scary to allow stranger.
Please follow me @patricksanlin and upvote. Thanks

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.57 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43