We drink a lot of sweet tea in Texas.

in #life7 years ago

Sweet tea definitely turns the volume down on this heat.

I think sweet tea is a southern thing.

I don't know if people in the north tend to drink it much or not.

Down here though, if you're not drinking water, coffee, beer, or soda then you're probably drinking sweet tea.

At my restaurant we have a variety of sodas available in the fountain.

We also have caffeinated and decaffeinated coffee and iced tea and sweet tea.

Guess which one gets drank the most?

In the morning when we make the sweet tea we use an absolute boat load of sugar.

That's all sweet tea is......... regular iced tea that's got a ton of sugar in it.

The funny thing is half the people that order it add even more sugar to it.

If you taste it right after it's been made you will immediately grimace at how absolutely sickeningly sweet it is.

Yet there are people that will add 5 and 6 packets of sugar to it everyday.


Source: Giphy.com

It's not just that my restaurant either......... pretty much everywhere you go around here you can order a glass of sweet tea.

That includes fast food places like Wendy's and McDonald's.

I try to watch my health so I don't drink much sweet personally although I do find it absolutely delicious.

Where you're from do they drink a lot of sweet tea?

Sort:  

@jeezzle I am also from Texas!!! I love sweet tea and its a staple in my drinking habits. I love sweet tea so much. Where I now live its a hit or miss when it comes to getting sweet tea. I can always count of McDonalds for sweet tea! Love this post. TEXANS UNITE!!!

We grew up mostly in Missouri, and you better believe we love our sweet tea up here 😂 But we actually visit Texas a lot and one of our favorite things about your amazing state is all the sweet tea! As a matter of fact, we travel full-time but decided to become Texas residents so that if we ever do settle down, we'll do it there and get all the sweet tea we could ever want 😄 Oh and the no state income tax thing is great too 👌

I absolutely love iced tea, but I prefer it unsweetened and no lemon. You're right though, people in these parts love them some sweet tea. I ordered an unsweet tea from McDonald's once and they gave me sweet tea. I took a big swig and thought I was going to go into convulsions. I could not believe how sweet it was. Tasted like tea syrup... yuck! Goes to show, people are nuts, heh.

I live in a particularly Japanese part of Los Angeles and people around here drink honey sweetened iced green tea. I love it now; it's my favorite. Otherwise, I like regular unsweetened black iced tea. I don't care much for southern style sweet tea.

Honey sweetened Iced Green Tea sounds amazing.

Sweet Tea is so gross to me, the fact people add more sugar is downright nauseating. There's one way to overconsume sugar in one sitting!

Wow.fresh drink

Need it so much

Sweet tea, with mint? Yeah???

It's all about boba in the Bay Area. Tea is an option at restaurants but it's usually unsweetened unless you ask for it sweet. In September we'll be going to Texas. I'll ask for some then and a Lone Star beer.

i like sweet tea, i lived in south korea. usualli many korean drink lots of coffee to wake up.

I used to drink a ton of coffee but I haven't had any in about a year. I've always wanted to visit South Korea.

Ice cold sweet tea is awesome on a hot summer day....

That is definitely true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57257.58
ETH 2345.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40