This Farberware toaster oven is the most dangerous appliance I have ever owned.

in #life7 years ago

Some of you may be aware that my oven, washer, dryer, and microwave all broke at the same time.

At first I thought it was some sort of electrical problem with the breaker box.

However, it soon became apparent that each appliance was actually broken.


Source: Walmart.com

Today I have acquired this giant Farberware toaster oven.

It looks good and I was happy to see that it actually works and I was able to cook some Red Baron Deep Dish pizzas in it.

I also made some ham and cheese Ciabatta sandwiches in it and they were quite good as well.

I noticed quite a few issues with it though that make me believe it may well be the most dangerous appliance that I have ever owned.

  1. The door is completely glass and there is no protection against touching the surface of the burning hot glass with your hand. I have inadvertently touched the inside of the door multiple times and had to rinse my hand under cold water for several minutes.

  2. The racks slide all the way out with only the slightest nudge. After cooking something for 20 minutes at 400 I opened the door and the rack slid out onto the floor where the dog then attempted to pick it up with his mouth. Fortunately he is a good dog and when you yell "Back" to him he will immediately back off. He could have been hurt though.

  3. The temperature is not correct. Although the dial has several different temperatures that you can use...... no matter what temperature you put it on it appears to always cook at about 550 or 600. The Red Baron pizzas that I cooked were supposed to take 22 minutes and they were done in about 15 minutes. Slightly burned but edible.

  4. The timer does not work right. The timer appears to have a mind of its own and sometimes if you set it for 20 minutes it will ding after 5 minutes...... sometimes you can set it for 20 minutes it will ding after 30 minutes...... there does not appear to be any rhyme or reason to it.

This is a second hand unit that I was given by someone I know.......... so it is possible that some issue happened to it along the way, however, I have read reviews on Amazon.com that state the same thing....... this toaster oven is quite dangerous.

Sort:  

Hahahaha it never rains, it pours.... issues or no issues, you ate pizza so that makes up for it

I have a convection oven (a glorified toaster oven) and it isn't a machine I trust all the time. It has the glass window and it gets so hot. I have burned myself more on it than any other appliance. Yours however sounds more unsafe than mine. They should kick off on time and stay the temperature you set them on.

Really nice post @jeezzle

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Aug 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.63 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post has received a 5.57 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @jeezzle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63003.41
ETH 3122.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52