The yearly cheerleader competition means little girls with caked on makeup dressed like adults.

in #life7 years ago

Every year there is a cheerleading competition somewhere near our restaurant.

We get tables and tables of cheerleaders and their parents.

It's really a busy time and it would be great except for one thing.....

Only about 20% of those tables are adults.


Source: Giphy.com

Adults are likely to eat more.

Children eat from the kid's menu.

While some servers are complaining about the fact that their entire table is nothing but young ones, I can't help but think about the ethical ramifications of these little kids dressed up like adults.

The age range seems to vary between something like 8 years old and 18 years old but the vast majority of these kids are between 8 and 10.

They have bright red lipstick on and faces that are dolled up like a princess....... or something worse.

I don't have kids so I probably shouldn't make a comment at all.

I don't judge people on how they live their lives either.

However, I can't help but wonder how these eight year-old girls feel with red lipstick, mascara, eyeliner, makeup, and a little outfit with a ruffled skirt and pierced ears.

I remember being a kid and for me it was mostly exploring the world from a kid's perspective.

Walking around, flying kites, playing with Transformers, and doing other harmless children's activities.

I was never expected to walk around like a bodybuilder or a football player when I was 8 years old.

It all somehow reminds me of JonBenet Ramsey.

If I had a little girl I don't think I would want her to dress up like an adult.

I don't think I would want to parade her around with lipstick, makeup, and the whole kit and caboodle.

Kids should be allowed to just remain kids.

Maybe I'm just overreacting.

Still something about the competition seems somehow inappropriate to me.

What's your opinion on these yearly cheerleading competitions for little girls?

Sort:  

I think that societies have changed a lot, now they do not let children live completely in some cases, like the models from very young or the cheerleaders, I think that childhood is to enjoy it and it is a stage that must be lived as such, adulthood can wait ... I agree with your thinking

Definitely.

I’m on the fence about this one. On one hand, over made-up little girls is kind of weird. On the other hand, I have a ballerina who wears “show make up” for recitals. The hair and make up is part of the show. They do still look like little girls, they just have accented features so they can be seen from far away.

I think that if it wasn’t for all these sick adults, the it would just be considered playtime, but no - people have to rake it too far and alter these little girls lives...

Yeah I'm on the fence about it too.

I say to each their own. Some want to grow up too fast. Others never want to grow up.

That's definitely true.

Hey you get alot of cheerleaders to cheer you on though

Well they weren't doing a lot of cheering.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59035.93
ETH 2519.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47