The quickest way to lose a friend is to take him to the airport.

in #life7 years ago

A few years back I had a friend named Adam.

Adam drove an old model Pontiac. It was black and scratched up and had engine problems all the time. It did not run well and it was not a good everyday car.

One day Adam needed a ride to the airport and he asked everyone that he knew.

I was one of those people.

I hate going to the airport so I told him that I didn't want to take him.

He was very insistent though. He waited until I had too many drinks one night and then cornered me.

"Hey man I will give you ten bucks if you take me tomorrow morning."

"Brother I work in the morning....... it isn't worth it to me."

"Come on man......... help me out here."

"OK fine but when I show up at your house you be ready. Make sure you have everything you need for the trip and I'm just going to drop you off and leave you and go on my way."

"Yeah man that's all I need. I appreciate it."

So I showed up at his house an hour before I had to be at work.

We headed down the road and hopped on the highway.

We were off to the airport.

On the highway we came to the first toll booth.

"Okay Adam go ahead and give me a dollar for the toll."

"What? You're the driver. You pay the tolls. I don't even have any cash on me."

"If you don't have any cash on you then how are you going to give me ten bucks?"

"I was going to pay you after the trip."

"Well that is certainly not what we discussed...... and we definitely did not discuss me paying the tolls."

Adam reaches in his pocket and pulls out a dollar. Turns out he had one after all.

We come to another toll booth and this time he really doesn't have any money.

I am able to scrape up the change however from underneath my seat and that is absolutely all the money we have.

When we arrive at the airport he asks me to walk him to the gate.

"Honestly man I need to get to work. I told you I was just going to drop you off."

A lot of anger and he slams the door.

As it turns out there is another tollbooth when you leave the airport.

You cannot leave the airport without paying this toll.

So the lady leans out the window and says.

"What do you mean you don't have any money? You came to the airport didn't you?"

"I was just dropping off my friend and doing him a favor."

"Well them let me ask you honey......... how do you plan to get out of this situation?"

"Will you please let me through?"

"It's your lucky day....... but don't let this happen again."

I didn't let it happen again.

You know what else? I never got my $10.

He told me since I didn't go into the airport or walk him to the gate I didn't deserve $10.

So I lost a friend and all it took was a trip to the airport and $10 that I never got.

I hope you liked this one.

Follow me @jeezzle

Sort:  

Spending $10 to find out that the person isn't worthy of being your friend is worth it.

Dayym that sucks, what don't understand people like that

typical.. no good deed goes unpunished

Ain't that the truth.

Think of all the future $10 you saved by getting rid of dead beat. LOL

It's a great way to think of things.

Well that completely blows! Learned yourself a lesson though!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jeezzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 1.18 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @jeezzle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54960.01
ETH 2314.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32