Showing initiative is the best way to go up in the ranks of life.

in #life7 years ago

Today we were very busy at my restaurant.

We didn't expect to be busy so it was quite a surprise when a crowd of people started pouring in.


Source: Giphy.com

Oftentimes the management will have to judge how busy we are going to be. They don't want to have a huge labor cost so they will cut the people that don't need to be on the floor.

At about 2:00 it was decided that we would cut most of the people on the floor since we were completely dead.

Right after most people left a large group of people started coming into the restaurant and we found ourselves in a situation.

Everyone very quickly got overloaded. No one wanted to take any more tables.

It's usually not a good idea to take more tables than you can handle, but on the other hand, if there's only a couple of people in the restaurant we don't want to make people wait for a really long time either.

We have a new server that is very shy.

This young lady decided that she could handle quite a few tables.

She was running food.

She was running drinks.

She was taking tables in the front room.

She was taking tables in the back room.

Throughout it all she was able to provide good service.

At no point did she ever say that she was overloaded or exhibit any signs of complaining.

When the shift was over I made sure to tell management that she was a real asset to our team today.

I'm sure it won't take very long for this young lady to rise up and become a higher ranked server.

Showing initiative is the best way to go up in the ranks of life.

Sort:  

Awesome. I agree. I promoted a sales rep at the call center I used to manage once because she did an assistant managers job to record a verbal contract when all the other asst. managers were busy. She didn't do it properly so I had to cancel the sale anyway, but, she showed she was there to move forward, not stay a sales rep.

A lot of people come to work just to make money. That's fine. If you're doing a good job then that's good enough.

However, if you come to work with the right attitude you can actually go places. It makes me extremely happy to see people that are well on their way.

I feel blessed that when that call center I managed closed after 10 years, I decided to follow my own passions and pursued a career in art. In 2014 I quit my last call center job and I've been doing art full time ever since. I hope that somewhere along the line my story can help inspire other people to go after their passions too.

@jeezzle
Thanks for sharing this wonderful post.
Showing initiative is indeed the best way to go up in the rank of life. I was once a sever in a popular restaurant, and I must tell you that, without having a personal initiative, you can easily give up with restaurant stress. Because most a times, unexpectedly you have customers filled up your restaurant and at that point you get confused on who to serve first or last, so in a scenario like that, you have to show initiative so that you could be able to attain to them all.

That's definitely true. A restaurant tends be an incredibly stressful place. You have to continue to struggle with guests while at the same time showing a friendly face.

It is obviously very good post.You have description with a story.That i have like it.So creativity blog.And so unique .I appreciate that.Go ahead

It is learning story, good job. Showing initiative and doing hard work are the best way to go to next step.

Could not agree with you more!!!! That is why I loved my team so much. Working with them was an absolute pleasure! I closed my business down at the beginning of this year so that I could focus on Steemit full time, but I handed EVERYTHING over to my shop manager and said here you go.... choose a name and run with it! Very proud to say he has, and he is doing terrifically well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56