Servers know: Take a drink to go.

in #life7 years ago

Most of you know that I work at a restaurant.

I've actually been working at this restaurant for about 11 years now.

The drinks that we serve are pretty expensive.

I'm not even talking about alcoholic drinks.


Source: Giphy.com

A glass of Coca Cola from the fountain is $3.

A glass of tea is also $3.

Neither of these things cost hardly anything and yet we charge $3 for glasses of each of them.

They are pretty expensive.

Most people don't realize though that you can ask for a glass to go and we will get you a to go cup.

That way....... if you have lunch and have a chicken sandwich, french fries, and a glass of sweet tea you can also take a fresh glass of sweet tea to go and have it at the office with you.

Since that's a brand new glass of sweet tea it's almost as if the tea was $1.50 since you get two of them.

Most restaurants do this.

Earlier today I was eating at Wendy's with a friend and we were about to leave.


Source: Giphy.com

We had both tried the new giant Junior cheeseburger meal which is a pretty good deal for $5.

I had ordered a lemonade and was about to throw it and the rest of my tray out when my friend said "Hey what are you doing?"

Get you a refill to go.

I hadn't really thought about it but I guess it's the sort of thing that we as servers often times do think about.

I filled the glass up with some orange creme soda that I found which was really good.

I was then able to drink it at my house while I did some work on the computer.

It was basically like getting a free medium drink for no reason at all except for the fact that I took one to go.

You can do this almost everywhere you go.

Servers know: Take a drink to go.

Sort:  

Nice tips...my mother always yells hey don't throw that cup away I forget and you are right sometimes the drink cost more than the burger :)

we should all listen to our mom more. :)

These days that is often true.

I've heard of that. Unfortunately, I never think of it when I'm at one of those places.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Oct 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.16 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67232.91
ETH 3240.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64