No electricity means not a lot of fun.

in #life6 years ago

I came home from work yesterday to find that our electricity was out.

There were a lot of different things that needed to be done yesterday so I was really frustrated to find that I could not use our electricity.

el1.jpg
Pixabay

Even stranger was the fact that everyone else had lights on in their house except for us.

We finally got Oncor to come out at 8:00 at night only to tell us they would need to come out again in a little while with a big team.

That team showed up at 6:00 in the morning.

Since I didn't really have anything to do, and I couldn't actually do anything, I simply got into bed at 8:30 thinking that the team would be there by like 10:00 and I would be able to get back up and do my work.

Pretty frustrating to lose out on the entire day..

There are now live temporary lines running all over our yard, our driveway, and the side of our house. It literally looks like a science fiction movie where some out of control energy vine is growing everywhere.

Nice one Oncor.

If you are wondering why I did not post yesterday, that is the reason. Additionally it turns out our electricity was off for something like 15 or 16 hours and I had about $50 worth of food in the fridge which is mostly slimy and smelly now. I really would have thought it would have lasted that long, but it didn't.

What a pain in the butt.

Sort:  

You mean you and your roommates didn't have a lively shadow puppet show using flashlights in the dark? lol. I wondered where you are. It's not like you to miss a day. Glad you're okay. Shame you were so inconvenienced though.

Losing power is a pain. We are out in the country and it happens a lot. I have to use a generator to keep our fridge and freezer going.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh ! I know that is hateful when that happens.

Did ya'll have a storm or something? Funny how it could take that much time and trouble for just one house being out.

this happened quite often when i was in my village during summer. Honestly, back then it felt like a disaster like i am literally have nothing to do but if you think about it we became helpless if situations like this occur, like we can't go and talk to someone else, read a book or go out of home

really? well in our province I wanted no electricity sometimes because in the evening you can see many people going outside. The street is very lively like before when I was a child, we know it's hard to happen for now because of gadgets.hehe just saying

Posted using Partiko Android

really? well in our province I wanted no electricity sometimes because in the evening you can see many people going outside. The street is very lively like before when I was a child, we know it's hard to happen for now because of gadgets.hehe just saying

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54