It's getting harder to explain my crypto addiction to friends and family.

in #life6 years ago

I got together with a few of my family members this evening. I hadn't seen any of them in kind of a long time.

It's not that I don't enjoy getting together with my family.... it's just that they all live pretty far away and not all of us have the time to always go visit each other.


Source: Pixabay.com

My family is a group of very busy people with extremely full lives that love to have a great deal of fun. They constantly are working........except for when they're on vacation, partying, and out on the town.

For the past few years, anytime one of my family members has asked me what I'm up to.... part of the answer has to do with cryptocurrency.

For the first couple of years it made at least a little bit of sense. Last year it made a great deal of sense. This year though people look at me as though I told them that I enjoy throwing hippos into the river. It's pointless and quite dangerous.

I can't help it though. I love cryptocurrency. I love the idea of it in every sense.

It's true that we are seeing a downturn right now. Regulations and Market manipulation have made our once beautiful apple pie into a tiny crumb cake.

That's okay though.

Hodlers be hodlin.

It could be a rough summer. I've heard people say they think cryptocurrency will continue to decline.... perhaps quite a bit farther.

However, when you know you've got a good product it's important to stand by it. Steem is amazing. Steemit is great.

I love to write my fiction here. I love to be part of the community.

I love cryptocurrencies in general. Watching videos on YouTube and various websites is fun for me. Checking out new projects even though they have a great chance of failure is just exciting.

My friends and family don't understand. They think I'm heading in the wrong direction.

"You could definitely make more money working at McDonald's right now because you know that money is still going to be there at the end of the week." they say.

They could be right in the short-term.... but you don't make money by living in the short-term.

I've got a Long View on cryptocurrency and I hope all of the rest of you do as well.

Be bodl and hodl my friends.

It may be getting harder to explain my crypto addiction to friends and family.... but you know what? I don't need to explain it at all.

When they see the end result....... they'll understand.

Sort:  

if i had a relative who threw hippos, I'd be proud!

I guess that would be quite a feat.

Yeah sir i also agree with you.

At the end of the day, the only person whoms opinion on these things you really have to live with is yours.

Don't let others get into your head too much.

I wear a foil hat so it's hard for people or aliens to get in there.

A wise strategy.

I gave up explaining my crypto love to family. They have no faith in it. I on the other hand hope to be laughing someday when the market gets good again.

I definitely want to get my own place very soon. Things are not looking promising but I have a few different balls in the air. That's right..... I've begun juggling in order to pay my bills. It's fun and terrible.

It says a lot about the people you are talking to when McDonald's comes to their mind as an alternative to blogging!

I'd say it's more of an alternative to what they consider to be dilly dallying as opposed to getting actual work done.

The actual work of selling toxic junk food is a worthy one indeed :)

They aren't very interested in what's happening in the world around them only what's happening in their own bank accounts and glasses and bottles.... I see that more and more lately.

I sure know what you mean about that. I try to help obese people lose weight naturally, and I cannot even get most of them to think about that.

Same is happening with me also 😂. Even with all crypto lovers . A great post I really like your work.
Are you a cryptocurrency investor??

Thank you.

It was the samething happened to me when i started as a youtuber back in 2008..... No one was appreciating me, neither in family nor in friend circle..

The problem is that we see the future here in crypto as the early adoptors, when they find us wasting time....

So absolutely nothing to worry.........as the early adopters we will be highly benefited soon.

Thanking you @saswat036

Early adopters definitely have the advantage.

hey agree...lol
you are always in my feed when I decide to look
how do you do that?

At least you talk to your family.

I try to be around whenever anybody looks.

Choices:

A. Throw a hippo in the river
B. Work at Mccy Ds
C. Play with crypto and hope like hell

I pick C.

I think A and C are both good choices.

I commend you for staying the course. Some people I know have liquidated everything but I truly believe that this is a more of a cleansing of those with weak hands. Time will tell who are the wise and who are the fools but this is one gamble I wouldn't want to miss out on so I'm staying "all in".

I'm glad to have you along for the ride. Hopefully we end up somewhere really nice. My friends are family are projecting a cardboard box, but I'd like to think of a yacht somewhere off the coast of Norway or some other far away dreamland. New Zealand maybe.

I think we'll end up in a very nice place with a little luck and patience. There's growing evidence that alts are decoupling from Bitcoin, if that happens it's anyone's best guess how high the market will go. I just want freedom to live the rest of my life exactly how I choose. If I can accomplish that I'll be happy as a clam.

sir bitcoin rate up ya down

Yes it's hard to keep track.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76