If you aren't sitting on furniture that you picked up off the side of the road for free.... you paid too much.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

When I first moved into this house there were two couches in the center room.

One of them is this couch.

It's pretty dirty right now because the pets love to play on it.

This couch was picked up about a mile down the road one week before I moved in.

There was also a white leather couch next to it that one of our roommates took with him when he moved out. It had a couple of scratches on it was mostly a pretty nice couch.

We found that couch about two months after I moved in here. It was probably about 5 miles down the road....... by my restaurant. It was just sitting out by a dumpster.

There is also a black microfiber couch upstairs that is really nice looking. It's in my roommate's room so I don't want to disturb him right now.

We found this one last year. It was sitting in a pile of debris that had been left out for the city to pick up. There's absolutely nothing wrong with the couch whatsoever.

A couple weeks ago we found this.

It's really old but it still works.

Do you remember having one of these when you were a kid? I think I had this exact one.

Maybe you're thinking......

"Well it's pretty worthless because everything's gone digital nowadays."

..... but I think it's really cool.

My roommate now has this outside his door.

I just noticed it yesterday. Although I haven't asked him about it I can tell right away then it's something he found somewhere.

It's perfect for him because he loves cats.

We have pictures, TVs, electronics, couches, chairs, stools, tables........ almost anything that you can name.

We have it.

If you're looking for furniture, or just about anything else, you should block off some time to go driving around your neighborhood to see what you can find.

You might find yourself feeling surprised when you see what's out there waiting to be picked up.

Sort:  

That is hilarious! Moreso because I am sure it is true.

When I lived in Germany, they had certain times of year people put out furniture and appliances and everybody would be driving around, looking to upgrade (or retrograde) It was fun!!

I got a cuckoo clock!

Oh yeah I have throughout my life picked up more furniture by the side of the road than I could possibly count.

Exactly right thinking.I have like your blog very much.I appreciate it.
Thanks a lot

Hi,

To be fair, I feel much safer if I bought it from the store and there’s a gaurentee of the furniture being replaced if something happens to it.

Because if you pick it up from outside what’s the gaurentee that it’s gonna be replaced by the same or better looking sofa, or that there isn’t anything hiding in there .

Yes but if it was free and it doesn't matter if you need to replace it soon because you can just go get another one...... from another Street. It just involves a bit of looking around.

you could do that, but you could be looking for a really long time

"one mans garbage is another mans treasure"
Maybe one day they ll cost a fortune

That's possible.

story is great way to deliver the messages\things which was happened in past i love story reading ...if someone not interested in story i suggest you to study stories which is based on reality after that you have to love it here i suggest some stories and books just for information 'THE LOST AND FORGOTTEN CHILDREN','THE DIARY OF YOUNG GIRL',

ınteresting home story:-)

Dont you have some money to buy sir??🤣
i had one here which i was going to drop:-))

no wondering why your reputation is 7

i am unhappy that i cant send The pics because of my low reputation

My last couch was at the road. It got rained on. I took a greenmachine to it to clean it. It was broken in two places but it was super comfy. I loved that couch for 6 years. I've also got a nice pantry shelf from the side of the road. People throw away nice stuff sometimes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81