How many posts do you actually read each day?

in #life6 years ago

Engagement.

What does it mean?

Is it curation? Does it mean finding posts that are going to have a great value, and riding that value up while you can?

While curation can definitely be a part of the process, what you're really trying to do is gain a base of friends and followers.


Source: Pixabay.com

We build our base by reading and commenting on other people's posts.

That base can be a foundation from which your readership will grow.

One misconception that people have whenever they join a site like this, is that great content will rise to the top.

That is only half true though. Great content is important, but even more important is making connections.

You could be the best writer on the planet, but if you are so introverted that you don't even comment on anyone's post then you certainly won't build any kind of a readership.

We must comment, we must engage, we must participate in all of the social aspects of the community in order to build ourselves up.

This takes hours. Every single day.

First there is the reading and responding to every single comment made on your post. How rude to not respond to someone! It takes time.

Then there is the searching through your homepage to see all of your friends and followers. Have they posted something great? I usually try to reply to about 10 posts per day on the homepage.

I don't always make it to that many though.

It's also a good idea to check the trending page. Making a comment on the trending page can sometimes get your name noticed, especially if that comment gets voted up near the top of the list. I advise against self up voting comments in a situation like that though, because it just makes you look greedy.

The trending page might not be your thing, but it's a great way to see what kind of information is making it to the top. Some of it may be based on bid bots. That is true. However, it's always good to see what's happening.

Make well thought out comments, make meaningful conversations happen.

In order to truly become a powerful blogger on a site like this, you can't just put out great content. You also have to read, comment, and engage every day.

Yes it's time consuming. Is it worth it? Definitely. I love to write, I love to interact, and I love to see what it is that's going on in everyone else's world.

So before you decide you're a great blogger based in your content, you really have to ask yourself this question....

How many posts do you actually read each day?

Sort:  

It depends on the day how many I read, but often a LOT of them.

Also depending on my Mood, I do like to make comments.

I find the more frustrated I am with the current state of affairs impacts how often I engage.

I agree with what you said though.

I definitely feel you on the frustration thing. I make as many comments as I can but I often feel like there's not enough time in the day.

Definitely changes from day to day. I get a terrible guilt if I feel I'm not interacting with enough posts. The grind is real!

The grind is definitely real. Serious interaction can be difficult.

Yeah Blockchain is based in confidence..I have no idea how many posts I read fortunately I love reading and here I am learning lot of issues!

You'll never run out of things to learn.

So far I don't have a chosen number. I have only been here 2 weeks, so I am just establishing, but I do know you need to engage and fortunately I like doing that. I also try to check my replies first to comment back if warranted and then to my feed to see what has been posted since I was last on. I work during the day Monday through Friday, so I try to catch some in the evenings. It's impossible to catch them all and will be harder as the list grows, but I hope to do it justice.

That's true it can be hard to catch them all.

Yes i'm looking for valuable posts for me and i vote and reply, but it needs time. I can only check a few times and for few minutes. So actualy i prefer shorter and straight posts. I also try to keep it short, even it is not always possible. Always happy to see also fascinating photos.

That's true. There's only a little bit of time and everyone's world.

I probably read one or two dozen post almost every day and I've been doing it for over 2 years. I don't comment on nearly that many. I do vote for some posts that I haven't read if it's from people that I'm trying to support. I think the best part of steemit is the relationships!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @jeezzle, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

A shit ton. holy cow. but i run a community and i try to support all of them - soooo. i'm not your average steemian. but yeah. a shit ton LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69812.20
ETH 3376.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78