How did the solar eclipse look from our restaurant?

in #life7 years ago

Today in Texas the solar eclipse took place at 1:00 in the afternoon.

Several of our guests brought with them special glasses to view the eclipse through.

Everyone was excited about seeing the eclipse.

Our restaurant has windows all around it so it's hard to avoid looking outside.

I held my phone out in front of me and used the front facing camera to take this picture.

Pretty bright isn't it?

It looks a lot different when you look at it through the special glasses.

In this picture though it just kind of looks like a giant burning ball which is exactly what it is.

You can see that the sky is very blue.

It actually got kind of dark for about 20 minutes though.

I took a picture of the sun during that dark period as well.

It's weird how everyone suddenly becomes really interested in science during an eclipse.

For me I was thinking about a science fiction story I once read about a bunch of people in a cave hiding from the eclipse and then finally coming out of the cave to realize they were now living in a world of total darkness.

I can't remember who the author was but it was from a book of science fiction short stories.

One of my friends was good enough to allow me to take a picture of him with the special glasses on.

He doesn't have a big thick beard like I do but he's still a pretty good guy.

We all went outside to look at the sun through special glasses or to use our cell phones to take front facing pictures without looking at it.

One of dumb coworkers decided to look straight at the sun though and then hurt his eyes.

Don't look at the sun during a solar eclipse.

I really thought the solar eclipse would affect our business negatively but it didn't.

Everyone kept coming out to eat.

A lot of them looked straight up into the sky without a care in the world.

Do we live in a world of dumb asses?

I don't know but it was a pretty fun and interesting day.

I hope you enjoyed this post. If you did........ please upvote and resteem.

Sort:  

Don't worry, it's going to be 100% total eclipse in Texas in 2024!! I'm from Texas and plan to go back home to watch. We just posted about our experience here today in Tennessee.

Did the temperature drop there during the eclipse today?

when was that ?? ma'am

Yesterday. Also I am a guy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59605.87
ETH 2518.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44