Have you ever spilled something gross on yourself and then had to walk around that way all day?

in #life7 years ago

Try working in the restaurant industry.... it's an everyday occurrence.

I can still remember this one particular day in high school.

An absolute giant of a man named Joel who was particularly friendly but none too bright opened a Pepsi can near me.

We were sitting on the pavement talking and enjoying a cigarette.

My school was very lenient........ of course this was more than 20 years ago.

He reached over to open the soda and I guess it must have been pointed in my general direction because it squirted all over my pants. I ended up walking around sticky and uncomfortable for the entire day.

I was pretty upset but Joel was a nice guy and he didn't mean anything by it.

Also he was about 10 times bigger than me and I'm a pretty big guy myself.

If I only knew then that I would have gross things poured all over me everyday later on in life.

Actually I'm glad that I didn't know that then.

How disappointing would that have been.

Working in the restaurant business means getting your hands dirty.

That's how it is in a lot of jobs......... but the restaurant business also means getting your shoes, pants, shirt, socks, sometimes even your underwear dirty.

Here's what happens.

The area where the food is prepared and salads are made is a good spot for standing around and talking.

Of course we are doing a thousand things at once and preparing food while we're talking, because there's rarely actually any downtime in our busy restaurant, but we're also chit chatting and a lot of people are complaining.

That's how the restaurant business is.

Inevitably, somebody gets distracted and, after grabbing their tray, they will suddenly stop....... causing drinks to fall and spill on the tray and then on the people standing next to them.

Some of our drinks are incredibly sticky as you can imagine.

I walked around today for six hours with sweet tea absolutely filled with sugar all over both of my pants legs and the back of my shirt.

We don't have hot air dryers in our restaurant for drying your hands so there wasn't much recourse.

I wanted to go stand outside in the hot Texas sun, but we literally never let up even for a second when it came to guests today.

Everyone wanted a steak and we were more than willing to serve it to them.

Have you ever had something gross spilled on yourself and then had to walk around that way all day?

Follow me @jeezzle

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $17.55 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 10 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43