Have you ever learned any dumb habits from somebody else?

in #life7 years ago

Sometimes you meet someone that has a habit and you think "How dumb is that?" but then you go and pick that habit up.

The most obvious example would be smoking. Anyone who started smoking likely picked it up from somebody else.

I started smoking when I was 16 years old. I thought it would make me popular and also get me laid.

Both of those things were true.

Fortunately I was able to quit smoking by the time I was about 23.

I still have high school friends who smoke today 20 years later.

Smoking isn't the only thing I'm talking about though.

There are a lot of dumb habits we pick up from other people.

The best example that I can think of is something that occurred to me this morning.

I had a girlfriend for several years that would spend a great deal of time in the bathroom in the morning.

One day I went in there and found she was brushing her teeth.

I noticed that she did this quite often so I asked her about it.

She told me that she always brushed her teeth twice.

The first time got most of the gunk out of your mouth.

The second time was for the shine and it really made your teeth feel clean.

"What? That's just a waste of toothpaste." I thought.

Then one day I decided to try it.

Fourteen years later I am still brushing my teeth twice.

I brush my teeth once and then I rinse my mouth.

I then put more toothpaste on the toothbrush and brush my teeth again and then rinse my mouth out again.

It's dumb and it makes no sense but it does make your mouth feel clean.

An expensive habit that I wish I hadn't picked up.

Do you have any dumb habits that you learned from somebody else?

Follow me @jeezzle

Sort:  

I started wearing all black from the goth kids in high school. Seemed like a great symbol that I was rebelling. After a while wearing all black was so normal I bought black clothes into adulthood without thinking about it. Took me 4 years living on my own to realize I didn't need to wear black anymore to annoy my mother and branch out my color scheme.

There are a lot of dumb habits and smoking cigarettes is one.
Although my friends for me into cigarettes, when I was younger cigarettes were seen as cool as well as much of the health risks were not known for it.
You even saw Doctors smoking and promoting them.
I've luckily been able to come clean after a few years

Haha, thanks for sharing :)

I am smoking since i was 17. I do not remember how i started it, but probably because everybody else was smoking. The fact is that i never tried to stop it and i can not imagine myself without it. I can not drink coffee without cigarette, i avoid places that not allow smoking, i am smoking when i work on pc and feel very uncomfortable when i have to visit or go out with people that not smoking. Of course is a bad habit and dangerous to health, but for me is a little pleasure that I do not want to miss.

Nice article!

I did pick a bad habit a long time ago, from a friend. He was spending most of his time in front of his computer, playing video games, all day long. Because of that, and because he was my best friend at the time, I started spending the same amount of time playing video games too.

That is one of my only regrets in life, spending so much time playing games instead of working and learning new things.

A good habit that I picked from a guy I'm still really good friends with is working really hard for the things I like. He spends 90% of his time working and making progress, and that motivated me to do the same, and now I'm spending most of my time working and making progress instead of doing anything else.

So I guess the way we do things is influenced, sometimes, by the the people around

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jeezzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jul 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $19.05 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 07 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.93
ETH 3441.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63