Have you ever been quoted a price but then the actual price was higher?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This happened to me just today. $70 becomes $100 thereby making life that much harder.

$30 may not sound like much to most people but it is a lot of money when we're all working everyday at my restaurant trying to barely scrape by and lately shifts have been just barely earning that much.

So here's what happened....

It's time for an oil change. Everybody that owns a car needs one once in awhile and I'm no exception.

I called the dealership because I was thinking of going there. Most people that I've talked to lately have been going to the dealership to get oil changes because nowadays the prices are often similar to a local shop.

This is not the case at the Volvo dealership. My car is supposed to use synthetic and the Volvo dealership charges $180 for a synthetic oil change.


Source: Giphy.com

I called around looking for a good deal on synthetic oil changes and found a place near my work that seemed to have good rates.

I drove there after work and they looked my car over before giving me a quote.

$69.95 for full synthetic.

Not bad.

I have $100 on me but I only made $30 at lunch today.

People aren't trying to spend money lately.

So I sit inside on the leather reclining chair that they have next to the rack of magazines.

A young woman briefly comes in and tells me about the 17 point inspection which is included free of charge.

After about 20 minutes I'm called to the front to pay.

The bill is placed in front of me.

$96.

So how do we get to $96 from $69.95?


Source: Giphy.com

Well apparently my car takes closer to 7 quarts of oil than it does 5 so there was an extra charge. I was never told about this charge though and in fact I was quoted $69.95.

Still.........I knew I had $100 so I paid the man and went on my way.

It was still cheaper than the dealership.

Of course, after resetting my seat and the steering wheel, because no oil change place can ever leave your seat and steering wheel in the position you originally had them in, I then noticed a rather deep cut on the wheel itself.

I already know there's no sense arguing it because they will just tell me I didn't have a picture of it before I came in and they did not cause the damage.

Have you ever had a good experience getting your oil changed?

Have you ever been quoted a price but then the actual price was higher?

Follow me @jeezzle

Sort:  

$30 is not a little amount and it is bread money for a week to many of the people in the world. The day we start feeling any amount of money small we will lose its worth.

This comment has received a 0.19 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @cryptokraze.

I've had good experiences before with a local place near my home. I've never been charged higher but I always request that they let me know if the price will be any different then what the quoted me because I want to be able to make a decision based on the new information.

That sounds like a good idea.

Nice sharing braother..
Are you okay hehehehe

Sure it just means working a few more shifts.

Hehehehe.
Hope always good

Ha! Ever build a house?!?! LOL! Some builders seem to have no conscience.

People are always looking for that extra buck!

No I have changed my oil in all my cars since I had a car I don't trust people to touch my car. I did the master cylinder on my wifes car and the radiator myself also. I just watch youtube videos to learn. I saved 100s of dollars and I know its done right because i did nit.

This is always a good idea. I used to change the oil in a jeep but I didn't have to jack it up because it was already easy to get under it.

I dont like being under a car that is jacked up. I used to drive mine over a hole and crawl under. I am cheap I guess But I dont like to work on cars ;-)

That really blows! At the dealership I used to work at if the customer didn't agree to the extra charges, parts, or labor....legally the customer does not have to pay the extra fees. I've seen it happen when the service rep was confident the customer would approve the job but couldn't get a hold of them at the time and then told the tech to do the work. Customer strolls in and is like no way I'm not paying that! At least we still got paid from the dealership for doing the work but the service rep gets a loss.

Working in the restaurant industry when it comes to giving money I never argue because I know what it's like to get screwed..... and I also know that the money sometimes comes from people that don't deserve to pay it.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $21.64 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 30 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30