Do you like a ton of ice in your drink? Does anybody?

in #life7 years ago

Let me tell you a well known secret. They're putting too much ice in your drink.

Who's they? Everybody.

You might think you need that much ice in order to cool your drink down but you probably don't even need half that amount unless you're walking around outside in the blazing 110 degree heat.

For the average person that comes into an air conditioned restaurant and orders a Coca Cola or a glass of tea you only need about one fourth of a glass of ice. Especially if that drink is already cold.

Some of these fast food places have automatic dispenser machines where you can choose how much ice you want.

That's a great thing because you can just put a few drops of ice in there and be fine.

I can tell you for a fact though that restaurants and other food places generally fill cups all the way to the top in order to save money.

If you've ever seen someone with a giant cup and it is absolutely full of ice you should know that at least half of that cup is just ice.

Ice is mostly free. With the exception of the water bill it's definitely a heck of a lot cheaper than any drink you might put in there.


Source: Giphy.com

When I started at my restaurant about 10 years ago we were instructed to fill the cups only halfway up with ice.

After all, we were told, nobody needs that much ice because it interferes with the flavor of the drink by making it watered down.

Of course times got hard for everybody and we all started buckling down our belts and making cost cutting measures.

So now you're going to get a glass filled to the top with ice and a bit of soda.

Granted it's free refills on soda and tea where I work but most places wouldn't have free refills...... especially if you went to Wendy's or McDonalds and got a Coke to go.

That's why I always advicate using half a cup of ice or less.

Do you like a ton of ice in your drink? Does anybody?

Sort:  

When I order a cold drink, I always insist on a full glass, ice on the side. They cannot say no, because I pay for the drink, not the ice. That way I can regulate exactly how much ice I want, if any.

Hahaha I always thought so, thank God I don't take my drinks with ice lol

Wow! What a great post! Learn something new today! The only time I get extra ice is in water. (LOL) When I go to the movie theather, I alwasy ask for four ice cubes. It manages to keep cool trew out the whole movie! Thanks for sharing @jeezle! Cheers!

Yep...pet peeve of mine. Who really needs THAT much ice? I live in the desert and appreciate a cold drink but really don't like all the ice.

Mr. Freeze does not agree with you

source

HAHA Great.

I either ask for no ice or as much as possible.
Putting 2 or 3 cubes will make them melt faster, watering your drink faster.
If you want your drink to be cold and not watered down, use plenty of ice so the ice doesn't melt.

Yeah I always tell them hold the ice or easy on the ice. No one likes more ice than the drink they ordered.

As a former bartender, I used to fill the entire glass with ice and then pour the alcohol. That was just how we did it.

But in a non-service situation, the ice to drink ration is a tricky thing. If you are pouring your own drinks, say, at a party, you really need to think how watered down you want your drink to be. And then add the ice.

I think most people don't even take watering down into consideration. I work at a restaurant and bar as well.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.57 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 25 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67421.43
ETH 3217.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66