Chocolate chip cookies are a cheap antidepressant.

in #life7 years ago

Life is definitely hard these days and it's really easy to get depressed around this time of year.

Some people take medication.

Some people turn to drinking.

For me though, I prefer chocolate chip cookies.

You're probably thinking chocolate chip cookies can't cure my issues.

You'd be right about that.

Time moves on.

We get older, there's no changing it.

There's no going back to tell your ex wife you're sorry.

There's no fixing of past mistakes by using a time machine.

We can't even bring our loved ones back. Will we ever see them again?

One day we will be gone too.

Chocolate chip cookies can't fix all of that.

They can put a smile on your face right now though.

You can work on your life tomorrow.

Try to get that better job and don't give up.

Get on that dating site and look for your mate...... they are out there.


Source: Giphy.com

Go to the beach, spend time with your kids, go watch a movie, do whatever makes you happy.

Right now though, why not eat a chocolate chip cookie?

You don't need to eat the whole box.

Eat one or two, and come up with your game plan.

Tomorrow's a new day.

So go eat a cookie and get your life working.

Chocolate chip cookies are a cheap antidepressant.

Sort:  

I'm sorry that you've been dealing with depression. It's something I deal with sometimes and it's a sucky state of mind to get in. Sugar does help though. Stick those chocolate chippers in a microwave for 15 seconds and it gets them nice and warm. Hits the spot on a tough day.

I was wondering where you were today and I'm glad you made a comment.

actually i think any kind of food can change the mood. you are angry? eat something tasty, it will be easy to get rid of the anger. you are sad? eat something tasty, sadness will be gone soon.
you might say that this only works for foody person. but that's not true. this works for everyone

It is true but it is also temporary. One must find the cause of their depression no matter how much it hurts to think about it.

yes, but immediately we should try to ease down the feeling. you know how stupid things people can do in high emotional state.

@jeezle, I've been through depression, it was a nightmare. I'd suggest people to go for everything that can help. Starting from freinds, family, pets, dating, psyhchologists, medication, meditation, yoga, and yes, the chocolate chips too, lol. They need all the help they can get.

Thank you for your insightful comment. I agree depression is a serious and dangerous condition that needs to be addressed and handled with care.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Sep 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.65 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Sep 25 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I disagree! I get depressed when I run out :(

I usually turn to ice cream...now I'm considering crumbling up cookies over my ice cream when I need a sweet fix to help pick me up haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65