Can elderly men get away with whatever they want?

in #life7 years ago

We tend to give a lot of leeway to the elderly and they should be given a lot of leeway.

Today I had two incidents with elderly people that were incredibly surprising to me.

One was with a man and one was with a woman so I decided to make two posts about it.

This is the first of those two posts.

Can elderly men get away with whatever they want?

A rather strange fellow comes to eat at my restaurant about once a week.


Source: Giphy.com

He often brings his aunt who always brings her own tissues and is constantly wiping her hands.

Sometimes she brings her own bread and condiments in even though we make our own bread and we have plenty of condiments.

Today instead of bringing his aunt he brought someone who I can only assume is his father or grandfather.

Upon greeting me in the restaurant he loudly explained that he would like to sit with a black person.

"Give me a happy black waiter!"

"That black guy looks happy! I want him to wait on me!"

An odd request to be sure but we did have a guy who fit the bill perfectly.

He joked around with his server a bit too much if you ask me.

It was clear that the guy had a bit of dementia but it definitely came across as somewhat racist.

Then when he was leaving I opened the door for him and he reached out and grabbed my belly.

I don't have a big belly.

He reached out and pinched it and I don't have a big belly so it hurt.

I wasn't surprised based on the way that this guy was acting with this server.

Can elderly men get away with whatever they want?

Follow me @jeezzle

Sort:  

That sounds like a mental issue. Did the relative seem embarrassed?

No he didn't. He laughed. I think that guy has some issues as well.

Oh jeez @jeezle! You really get some right characters in there, is race a big issue where you live?

Hmm, as far as the question; I think they can, as long as they're not nasty. I think they have to be really horrible before you react badly to them, because lets face it, in an altercation with someone really old, you're going to be the one who feels bad afterwards; and nobody wants that.

Cg

I think race is definitely a big issue here. I think a lot of times people hide the way that they feel so that they can be politically correct when in reality they might be a racist or sexist.

That was great, we have to understand them. It's a way of respect..nice post!

That is so weird! I wonder what he was thinking pinching you? My husband's 70 year old dad once got behind some woman at Walmart and was discussing her large rear end and we were so embarrassed hoping she didn't hear. Yeah...old people do some outrageous things.

I work in teaching so I can relate to your experience.

We attract mostly students of average moral fiber, with a smattering of self-important, high-maintenance assholes.

I'm sure mental illness plays a part, as a lot of these people are clearly intellectually under-equipped to follow any type of instruction or engage in any task requiring more than five minutes of continued concentration, but every now and then I come across some entitled douche bag who thinks they can get away with anything just because they're paying for the lessons.

You haven't seen the disgusting underbelly of the human psyche until you've had to slave away in a customer-facing job of some sort.

I'm not exaggerating when I say it has turned me into a bit of a misanthrope. It has made me a lot less trusting of people, I can tell you that.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Oct 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.72 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 25 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57305.83
ETH 3076.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40