A Jeezzle Review: The Orville

in #life7 years ago

There is a Science Fiction show that I've been looking forward to ever since I saw the first commercial for it.

From the creator of Family Guy and also starring the creator of Family Guy comes The Orville.

I have to say first of all that I'm a huge fan of Seth MacFarlane and I think that the man is a genius.

I find both Family Guy and American Dad to be hilarious and I also really enjoy Star Trek and other science fiction shows so The Orville seems tailor made for somebody like me.

The question is....... is it just Family Guy in space?

Will it be another The Cleveland Show that is not completely terrible but at the same time not particularly well loved?

After watching the first episode of The Orville I can tell you that the answers are somewhat surprising.


Source: Giphy.com

Who's in it?

I have to say I'm very impressed with the cast of characters in The Orville.

Seth MacFarlane
Adrianne Palicki
Penny Johnson Jerald
Scott Grimes
Peter Macon
Halston Sage
J. Lee
Mark Johnston
Chad L Coleman
Larry Joe Campbell

There are some big names in here many of whom you will definitely have seen before in some other famous shows and movies.

Each character really takes their role seriously and no one is taking this show to be a comic farce.

Everyone shows great dramatic acting skill but also a good blend of comedic timing.

I don't think they could have picked a better cast of characters as everyone seems to fill their role quite well.


Source: Giphy.com

What's the plot?

Spaceship travels the Galaxy.

It's the same plot as Star Trek.

This time there's a few jokes thrown in and they are actually funny.

The first episode was about the ship getting its crew together and then going on at mission to deliver some supplies to a planet.

When they got to the planet they discovered that not everything was as it seemed and they were ambushed and attacked.

They were able to show that not only is there comedy involved here but also good drama and the ability of each character to talk and act their part correctly.

This first episode was essentially a showcase for what this show can be.

This show has the potential to be something really great and one can only hope that Seth MacFarlane's name is able to prevent Fox from canceling this show as they tend to do when a great show comes out lately.


Source: Giphy.com

What stands out?

Well the main thing that stands out is the fantastic acting and also the great comedy. It's a perfect blend and in my opinion The Orville is easily going to be one of my favorite shows if they can maintain this quality.

Unfortunately something else stands out as well and I'm worried that it might turn out to be a problem.

You see...... the ship that they're in, The Orville, looks remarkably similar to a Star Trek based ship.

They wear a mix of red, blue, and green uniforms and all of their uniforms could easily have come from an episode of Star Trek as well.

The characters do not act like the characters in Star Trek at all so that is a good thing.

There can be no mistaking, however, that the main enemies in this episode of the Orville were Jem Hadar.

They honestly were not even trying to hide the fact that they took the Jem Hadar from Star Trek and absolutely just changed their name.


Source: Giphy.com

That is not a big deal to me but I have to assume that some executive that worked on Star Trek is going to simply say "Hey look...... not only did they take our ship design but they also took our uniforms and one of the main enemies of one the main Star Trek shows was completely cloned here."

Now maybe they can get away with it and I hope that they do.

The Orville is one of the best shows that I've seen all year.


Source: Giphy.com

Everything about it is Star Trek in spirit and I can pretty much guarantee but it's going to be better than Star Trek Discovery which in my opinion it looks like complete garbage from what I've seen so far.

I didn't expect The Orville to be the next Star Trek.

I thought I would be a comedic farce in space that was similar to Family Guy.

It does have some great humor in it but it is more Star Trek than anything else and in my opinion that is a fantastic thing.

I'm very excited for this show to continue and I look forward to the next episode.

Sort:  

nice post @jeezzle

I watched it. It was silly and predictable but it had a few entertaining moments. I will watch it again but it will need to improve a lot to hold my interest.

I loved it but then again it was right up my alley. I guess it depends on what kind of show you enjoy.

@jeezzle Interesting Tale. Hope you obtain what you would like from this job. Have got a pleasant working day. Upvoted.
Many thanks in your get the job done likewise! Resteemed
tweetle

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63