A drop of kindness can create an ocean of well being.

in #life7 years ago

Yesterday I found myself with a big problem and an unexpected person came to help me. I thought it would be a great idea to write about it here.

I arrived home from my lunch shift at the restaurant yesterday at 3:00 p.m.

Immediately upon opening the door I noticed that it was about 110 degrees in my house. The air conditioning was not on and the little nest thermostat on the wall said "RC wire not detected."

I had no idea what that meant but I knew it wasn't a good thing.

I rushed to let my little Boston Terrier out into the backyard but my cat was not willing to be picked up because she was very upset.

I walked outside to the breaker box and flipped the AC switch. Coming back in the house I saw that It did not do anything.

I then flipped the switch for the main electricity at the top of the breaker box off and back on again. This time when I came back inside my heart sunk as I saw at the electricity did not come back on.

I flipped the switch again and again with the same results.........no power and no AC.

Pulling out my phone to make a call I realized that it was completely dead and there was no way to charge it.

I didn't have a lot of options so I got in my car and I drove over to my mom's house. I was hoping that my step dad was home. He and I don't really get along. My mom married him 10 years ago after only dating very briefly and he created a real rift between us for quite some time.

The truth is that we have very different beliefs and it's hard to reconcile them. I also find myself having to back down and be the adult in every conversation with him and that gets tiring.

He is a master electrician.

Knocking on my mom's door I was glad to see him answer. I immediately explained the situation to him without even pausing for breath. He just said "let's go" and dropped what he was doing, hopped in his truck, and followed me home.

After 45 minutes of testing the wires and screwing and unscrewing various things and doing electrician stuff he finally found the problem and fixed it. I thanked him and he just shook my hand and said "See you later."

He really didn't have to help me out. We haven't been the best of friends but he was really there when I needed him. It would have taken me forever to get an electrician out and he didn't even charge me a penny.

I plan to take him out to lunch this week.

You know what? I might just be more open to hearing some of his ideas in the future.

Follow me @jeezzle

Sort:  

Great post!

Thanks!

What a post... Changes the perception to see people

Definitely.

My dad got remarried when I was a year old to the woman he'd cheated on my mom with. I hated my step-mom until around the age of 26. Enough time passed that I forgave her and accepted her as family. It was really nice of your stepdad to help you like that. Time heals old wounds so maybe that gesture was a good start to a better relationship.

That's awesome! Thanks for sharing 😊

I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22