DAY OUT: THE MYSTERIOUS CORN SELLER.

in #life7 years ago

Yesterday evening, I went to buy corn because I've been indoors all day and I needed to take a stroll and because I also needed to satisfy my taste buds that has been craving for hot roasted corn and coconut. So I got to their line, used my eyes to gauge which woman (They were all women) had the best corn, visually speaking. So, I walked up to her stand, picked the best two I could see, asked her for coconuts and then waited for her to add finishing touches.

So, there I stood waiting for her and this old woman walks up to me and starts touching me. I thought she was using me as a walking stick, trying to find balance or lean against something so I stood firm, turned, smiled at her and greeted her of course in Igbo 'cause we're deep in the east and speaking English out here will make you look so damn ridiculous. I'm not the only person to go to school. Ain't nobody got time for that.

She proceeds to ask me whether I was wearing a jersey or "football cloth" according to her. I said no, that it was a tee shirt. Actually, I was wearing my AfCS reunion shirt and it's got my name boldly printed at the back. She continues to touch me and I was feeling awkward right now. She then says, "So, your name is Kosi? ". I answered her, "Yes Ma".

She coughs, smiles and then continues touching me on my shoulders. And at this point, I didn't know what to do again, people standing there were looking at me, I was uneasy, looking at the corn crackling under the heat, smiling and trying my best not to be shy and thinking of what next to do.

And then she stops touching me and blurt out at the same time,
"Nna, é gà abú nnukwú mmadú," she shakes her head while looking up and continues, "Nnukwú mmadú ka e bù, but you don't know it." I ended my gaze on the fire and looked at her. She continues, "But you need to prrrraaaaaaayyyyyyyy". Yes, that's how she stretched it.

"Ah! A religious preacher seeking to invite me to their church or a beggar. Yes, she must be one of them", I thought to myself but no, she didn't want my money if I had any neither was she inviting me to any church.

She continues telling me how I need to pray so I that can get there, that I'll be great and powerful. Everybody was listening to her and I started wondering what this woman's motive was. I couldn't figure out what it was so I waited for her to finish so I could thank her and go 'cause it'd be rude if I ended things abruptly.

Honestly speaking, I'm not a fan of all these seer, future or vision seeing people in layman term but it gets interesting. This old woman, agadi nwanyi a, starts saying things about my personal life, things I knew she wouldn't know ordinarily as i don't know her. Then this woman says something, something that's a secret, something I cannot say here on Facebook, something that nobody else knows except one of my friends. And for those of you thinking it's Amobi, it's not him. I stood there petrified and looked at her. I was in shock and disbelief. There was no way this woman will know this except if she was Charles Xavier or Martian Manhunter or any Metahuman that have mind reading capabilities. Even juju can't make you know this. I was cold now. And when she said it, everybody there just looked at me. I didn't just know what to do.

By this time, my corn was done, I collected it, paid for it, thanked the corn woman and the old woman and left. Before I left, she said, "And whatever the outcome or the situation is, never you stop smiling" and some little children came there and said, "Mama, there you are. We've been looking for you".

While I was going, she was pointing at me and telling people, "Onyè a bú nnukwú mmadú "..

Couldn't sleep for greater part of last night as her voice kept rattling in my head.

P.S: Nobody should ask me what the secret is. I'm gonna live and die with it.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jediboy to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69