You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Whit's This?

in #life7 years ago

A brother!? Oh my.. I've heard of your sister, but never once had you mentioned a brother. Could they possibly be the same person? Curiouser and curiouser.

Perhaps he belongs to a different time. It seems he doesn't enjoy the finer things of the 21st century. Maybe you should get him a Leatherique instead. I hear it's particularly good for Corinthian Leather.

Also, thanks for clearing up the meaning of "burd". I, and I'm sure many others who read this, thought of another thing which strangely enough still fits given the context.

Sort:  

Haha, yes, it is good to clear up the burd thing in that case! It is a slang pronunciation of bird. It's quite derogatory, very popular in Glasgow though!

Oh yes, my big bro. A character and a half. We don't get on hugely. In fact we don't get on much! My sister must be my sister in law! She is a menace also. Goodness. What a wonderful family/extended family I have!

Ah, yes... 'Burd' as an affectionate term...

"You know why men call women 'Burd'?" I always ask the man using the term.

"No?" He'll say, smiling inanely at me because I'm giving him some attention.

"Because they pull worms," I'll say, smiling sweetly - OK, I don't do 'sweetly' but you know... ;)

Oh I know!! I have heard htat one being said sweetly before. That is why I am quite careful never to call a girl burd

Honey Pie does just fine!

Sister-in-law! Right! I knew that! Haha! That's why I was hesitant to put that in. I wasn't sure if it's your sister or your good lady's. Nice to know that my memory gets it wrong sometimes.

The only other slang bird is used for here is to refer to men's other head--the brains of the operation, obviously.

Hehe, you still have quite the memory!

Ah the little bird, that is a new one on me although I have likened mine too a hawk on occasion

Oh wow seriously? I thought that eupemism was quite universal haha! The more you know. People have always likened mine to a pelican. Who am I to disagree? Who am I!? No, seriously. I've hit my head, and I can't seem to recall who I am.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62596.54
ETH 2433.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65