You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ASMR: Potential cure for insomnia and an aid for anxiety and stress

in #life8 years ago

For me, my trigger is a combination of sight and sound, but it's mostly dominated by sight, perhaps because of my visual preference. ASMR is one of those therapies that are so underrated, and are often passed off as pseudoscience. Even if it's psychosomatic, people forget that the end-result is what's important especially for the person who's suffering. Thanks for sharing these videos, my friend. Very helpful resources!

Sort:  

You know, I wonder if that's a masculine/feminine distinction. I should do some research on the statistics. I have noticed that there seems to be more comments about the visual aspects of the videos from men, while women tend to focus more on the sounds. In fact many of the female 'artists' themselves have commented on preferring whisper and sounds videos that they listen to while occupying themselves with other tasks. Also I prefer female ASMR videos to male, so I don't know whether the reverse is true, but I wouldn't be surprised to learn that it is.
Another thing I can touch on in the next post is the argument over the potentially sexual nature of these videos. I know many of the people who do ASMR, particularly the Americans or Americanized, shy away from sexual connotations. I am a to each their own type of person so I don't see a problem with it being taken sexually, thought I myself don't get that from it. It's also not what I'm looking to get, therefore I watch Maria's videos and others like her that don't put out those vibes.
I love that you know what it is and could chime in here!! We really do have a great deal in common :)