TODAY IS MY BIRTHDAY! 20 LESSONS AND HARD TRUTHS

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I have never been big on birthdays but I love once in a while to be extra and to celebrate with my loved ones. This week, I celebrated with my boyfriend earlier and he gave me a great treat. We went to a nice restaurant, had some food and drinks and we spoke for hours. I felt special.

I never set new years resolutions on New Year's buut I set them on my birthday. This birthday, we are trying some recipes in the house then we go for sushi later at Furusato( a great Japanese restaurant in Nairobi). I also know I will get some chocolate and wine. I am so easy to please. that for me will be a recipe for a great birthday. Oh and some of my family already called to wish me a great birthday.
I decided to compile the cliche 20 things I have learned etc post. I am not 20 years old. I wish I was but let's just write 20 lessons yes?

IMG_6304.JPG

20 Lessons & hard truths I have learned.

  1. The older you grow, your circle becomes smaller. I had like 30 great friends in campus and now I have 5 true loved ones. Two are on Steemit. Hey @njoromuts & @sylviam. I love you guys so much. Hugs!
  2. Keep those you love closer. Family is everything. Love you @joel-wandimi
  3. Life is short so live every day to the fullest. Carpe diem!
  4. Every small task can be broken down into small manageable tasks and that's how to get sh*> done.
  5. Bullet journalling is amazing! It has changed my life.
  6. You do not actually need a TV that bad! You have done fine without one! (lol)
  7. Walk your own path. Your life is your life.
  8. Trust the timing of your life. You will cross your milestones at your own & God's time.
  9. Trust the slow moments in your life. I call them the wilderness phases where things are slow and opportunities are few. Life ebbs and flows and there must be ups and downs. Trust that this too shall pass.
  10. Sometimes you have to ask yourself, " Do I want to be right or do I want to be happy".
  11. Forgive!
  12. Trust your gut.
  13. Learn to say no.
  14. Rejection has nothing to do with my worth. We all get rejected.
  15. Not everyone will like you just like you do not like everyone you meet.
  16. You can practice confidence.
  17. You are what you eat.
  18. You miss all the shots you don't take.
  19. Lets success and results be your noise. Talk is cheap.
  20. Change is scary but necessary.

Bonus lesson: Be fearless when pursuing what sets your soul on fire!

B4.jpg

I know you have heard some of these lines but I have written them down and they have been things that I read from time to time.
In a nutshell, I am happy for the years that God has kept me on this earth. Happy birthday to me.

Steemit_In_Kenya.png
APP.png

Sort:  

Happy birthday

Happy Birthday My Dear! Yes, the smaller the circle, the less bullshit you have to deal with.

And I'm glad more people are catching up with the No TV policy. It's a conditioning tool. I prefer reading or watching educative YouTube videos and movies once in a while.

Something tells me this will be the greatest year yet...You feel me?!!

I also agree with that. Reading is so much better. And the information and value on YT is gold.
I also feel it n my soul. Cheers to a successful year too!

This is @steem-africa and am here to help build Africans in every way I can. Your write up has met our standards and we have up upvoted and resteemed your post... You can also follow our trail on Steemauto to help give better rewards to Africans

Amazing. Thanks so much @steem-africa

Wellsaid ...I could have guessed a January queen wrote this 😁😁😁😁

You are so damn right! Especially about the t.v thing, can't remember the last time i looked forward to watching lol...
Happy birthday dear @jeanwandimi
I'm so excited for you loool....

We January babies rock. Also excited about yours coming up! Can't wait.

Thanks for the love!

A very happy birthday to you. I must say I agree with you on the TV. The only thing I use it for is streaming movies and football and playing games.

I know. Is it that we are getting old? I am always on YT so I saw no need to pay for TV.
Thanks for the wishes.

Happy birthday to you dear! @jeanwandimi

Thankyou so much.

Happy happiest bday

Thank you dear.

Happy Birthday @jeanwandimi!!! 🎂🍹🎈

Happy birthday to you. Have a wonderful one.

Thankyou so much!

Hope you have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55