How Steemit became my personal Lifesaver!

in #life7 years ago

I became part of this community several days ago, browsing different topics and after reading several articles I stumbled across a post written by @infovore where he described how and why he started to write in Steemit. His story was appealing to me because I also live in a third world country but my life has been more or less the opposite of his. It's true I also belong to a middle class family but here in Venezuela that means that I have traveled around the world since a was 5 years Old. Venezuela has always been considered an Oil Exporting Country, founder of the OPEC (Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries), aka RICH!

Well things have changed since the uprising of the so called REVOLUTION by the hand of Hugo Chavez, It's been a revolution for the worse! turning a wealthy nation into a chaos of hunger and shortage of all basic needs.

On top of it all a very tight exchange control and nearly no access to foreign currency. An inflation rate high as 2.000% a year pushes people to try by all means to protect their wealth or equity. One way of achieving that is to convert Bolivares to USD or find a way to generate dollars somehow, which is why a got involved with mining Btc and that led me HERE!
Thanks to blockchain technology and clever ideas like Steemit common people have a new hope in a country that lacks good news and optimism due to the REVOLUTION.

Sort:  

May you receive many USD, and may your country be restored to it's former majesty @jcdelpino!!!! XOXOXOXOOX :-) [I am a poor American, which means I have not traveled anywhere LOL!!! :-O]

Thanks for your kind words!

Lets hope Venezuela gets out of this even stronger then before! Welcome to Steemit :)

Hope so, conditions here are getting worse by the minute but blockchain technology is kind of a safe heaven.

It's difficult to imagine the difficulties Venezuelans are facing right now. I hear stories about there being no dogs or cats roaming around the barrios of Caracas, when there used to be many because they've all been eaten by starving people. Wishing you the best.

Do you see more people using crypto currency there yet? Or are the people who are using it keeping it quiet for fear of being punished by the government?

Well I don't know about people eating their pets but things are defenetly harsh! Thx

In those stories, I assumed it was stray dogs, not peoples' pets.

As the household economy gets worse people can't afford to feed their pets so it's not unusual to see pets abandoned.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.79 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 25 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Welcome to Steemit! I've heard on the news about how tough things are in Venezuela now. I can't pretend to understand what it must be like living through that, but I can sympathize. Hope Steemit and Bitcoin can help you realize your dreams. Enjoy your time here!

Thank you very much, the steemit community has been very supportive and I appreciate it!

@infovore is awesome !!!!! welcome to our world :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56