Liquor Review: CatDaddy, Spiced Moonshine

in #life8 years ago

I've been fighting to find a subject to post about and the last two I had kind of fell through. So, why not do a review?

Catdaddy on the rocks. Photo taken by me

Catdaddy: Spiced Carolina Moonshine

Proof: 80

Origin: North Carolina

Color/Age: Clear, Unaged

Grain(s): Sweet Corn

A Little Bit About It

This un-aged liquor was first produced by Piedmont Distillers in 2005 and up until a few years ago was completely exclusive to North Coralina. Each batch is born in a copper pot still, true to the moonshine'n ways of the south. Catdaddy is distilled from corn, in small batches and the bottles even have the batch number hand written on them. In 2009 they were invited to the 51st GRAMMY awards in Los Angeles, which is amazing considering how small the distillery is.

Scent

It smells like Christmas! The smells of cinnamon and nutmeg fill the nose with a hint of pine (possibly juniper?). These delicious scents are accompanied by a hint of warm vanilla. One sniff of this wonderfully spiced moonshine and you'll be taken back to holidays past.

Flavor

My brother like to describe it's taste as 'Christmas'. Spice with vanilla, nutmeg and cinnamon (possibly more they just won't say!), this is a perfect liquor to add to EggNog around the holidays.

The cinnamon gives it an almost spicy start but is quickly overridden with the taste of vanilla and what reminds me of brown sugar, creating a sweet warm finish that lingers on the tongue.

Warmth

This isn't a drink I would consume on a hot summer's day, even on the rocks. Though Catdaddy is extremely smooth it does warm you up quite fast, which makes it perfect for those cold winter evenings (or mornings if that's your thing).

Conclusion

At 40% ALC/VOL, this moonshine sits along side any whiskey or bourbon. The flavor makes it easy to consume which is good or bad depending on how you look at it. Perfect for the holidays, cold days, or just whenever! Although I do like this drink, Catdaddy isn't something I could drink all the time or even have more than a few drinks of it the same night. The flavors are well balanced at first but as your palette adjusts it can become overly sweet and sugary. Overall a great moonshine but not an ever-day drink and best served on the rocks (it is good at room temp too).

P.S. it's great for bachelor parties!

Drinking Catdaddy out of champagne flutes on a party bus in North Carolina for my bachelor party.

I hope you like this review. Thanks to @steemswede for the idea. If I forgot anything please add it in the comments, along with questions. Also I would love to know if anyone else has tried this drink or if you have any great mixer recipes to try with it. Thanks for reading. Take it easy.

Justin

Sort:  

Interesting! Would like to try this once tho. Seems like an interesting drink to have once! :D I've got a bottle of the 190 proof Everclear. Good for playing prank on unsuspecting friends.

You sir, are evil hahah!

I have to agree with @jbouchard12, that's a cruel prank man, lol. Everclear is also good for spitting fireballs over a fire, just be careful not to spill any on yourself in the process!

I see. Don't think I want to spit fireballs anytime haha! Well I've only had a couple of shots of it myself at the most. The bottle is nearly full even after 5 years haha! Havent found enough people to prank it with yet. But it's the craziest drink in the world alright! :D

damn I'd like to try that with eggnog

It is available in NH but only in one store. If you go to their site they have a store locator. Give it a try!

I found out your posting through google searching and I Write an article about Metamucil weight Loss it's May Help to you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78