You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What You Know About Addiction Is Wrong!(you're not even close)

in #life6 years ago

I agree, maybe not mental addiction, but there is emotional addiction.

The fear you're talking about is of having to deal with something in your life that the addiction was helping you escape from, hide from, or be soothed about. Things you could ignore now you will face, and it's a great thing - all about healing, growing and becoming more resilient, responsible and self-loving. The doctor I respect on this topic is a compassionate Canadian: Dr. Gabor Mate and he has a book on the topic. You may also like Seat of the Soul by Gary Zukav. I think he talks about cultivating your authentic power to deal with addictions and everything else...

Sort:  

The addictions were not helping me escape from anything. So, for that reason, I wasn't actually using the substances to run from my problems. I thought I was, but that was brainwashing.

When I did quit drinking and smoking, there wasn't a moment of "finally facing my demons."

I made the mistake of thinking that kicking alcohol meant I would have to finally face these huge personal issues that I was running from. The truth was that these personal demons weren't real. These issues were minuscule. My fear of quitting was pumping them up to terrifying proportions. So, if you understand me, I had to recognize the idea of "I drink because I'm running from my problems," to be brainwashing. It's a lie. That's not why I was drinking. It's not why anyone drinks.

The real fear was the fear of being free. It's not something I really felt honestly and intensely until I took the final step. It was kind of like jumping off a diving board for the first time. After you do it, you laugh, it's a cheap thrill but much of the elation comes from realizing that it's no big deal, nothing to be afraid of.

No offense, but you can quote doctors all you want, the term "doctor" doesn't carry any weight with me on this matter. That's due to my own personal experience. They more often say things that make the addiction worse.

If you're finding luck with Gabor and Gary, that's great. I doubt it though. I myself am not interested in reading them because I've already kicked my addiction. If they're wrong, I'd be reintroducing brainwashing that could be potentially harmful. If they're right, then I wouldn't have gained anything because I've already kicked the addictions. I'd also like to point out that my original post has nothing to do with personal growth, healing, resilience, or anything to do with life style. I'm focusing very specifically on ADDICTION. It's not a life style, it's not a habit, it's an addiction. It's a prison built out of misinformation, fear, and physical dependence. If you don't believe that, then you are brainwashed. That is my stance.

As far as the "emotional addiction," I can't say that I really know what that is. I've seen the term thrown around plenty, but to me it's more of a buzz word. "Emotional addiction" was not part of freeing myself from alcohol and cigarettes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59956.07
ETH 2524.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49