Desiderata - Valuable Life Lessons That My Father Shared With Me

in #life6 years ago (edited)


father child.png

I distinctly remember the day: it was a bright afternoon in 1988 and I was 7 years old. My dad had just come home from working the 7AM-3PM shift as a security guard at a bank.

He just barely made it through the old, crickety door of our house when he excitedly announced that he'd brought home something for me. He then handed me this plastic bag and I could see that it was from my favorite little shop in our area - G.Miranda Bookstore - which was more of a school-supplies store than a bookstore really. I eagerly opened the bag hoping it was a new set of scented stationery paper which I had been wanting to buy.

But instead, I found 2 books - both were just slightly bigger than pocket-size and about 2 inches thick. One was an English-Tagalog dictionary and the other was a regular all-english one. He said they would help me greatly with english-taught subjects at school. My dad doesn't speak the language very well and neither did my mom but they were determined to help me do well in class.

As you can probably imagine, at 7, I wasn't thrilled about learning foreign vocabulary words. I figured I was learning enough of them at school.. I didn't need to be learning them while at home too! I really would rather just play with my friends outdoors. But, alas, everyday, my dad would have me learn 5 new words - their spellings and meanings before I would be allowed to run outside to play. It probably only took 20-30 minutes out of my every afternoon on school week but, man.. I found the whole thing to be such a chore! Eventually, I learned to embrace it as part of my daily routine and actually started enjoying it. I even found myself looking forward to our "review quiz" on the weekend. Haha.

Fast forward a couple of years, when I was around 9, my dad showed me a copy of this poem called "Desiderata". The poem was written in very old english and needless to say, full of new vocabulary for me to learn. So I sardonically thought, Oh, joy!

I remember my dad would ask me to read a passage from the poem and he would "quiz" me about some obscure words that were in them - what they meant etc, and he would further explain the message to me.

He told me the poem was shared to him a few years prior by a professor that he became friends with. My dad still treasures that piece of paper, until today. And he told me that he tries to live by the words in that poem daily, as we all should. At a young age of 9 or 10 however, I didn't truly appreciate the lessons behind the words in the poem then. I was more concerned that I was missing my favorite afternoon TV show!

It wasn't until much later in my 20s that I learned to truly value the lessons in that poem .

Thank you for sharing these lessons with me, Dad! It may have taken me a while, but I get them now. I love you!

Here is the copy of the poem from I found on Wikipedia :


Desiderata (Desired Things)

by Max Ehrmann

Go placidly amid the noise and the haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence. As far as possible, without surrender, be on good terms with all persons.

Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even to the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.

Avoid loud and aggressive persons; they are vexatious to the spirit. If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain or bitter, for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.

Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans. Keep interested in your own career, however humble; it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time.

Exercise caution in your business affairs, for the world is full of trickery. But let this not blind you to what virtue there is; many persons strive for high ideals, and everywhere life is full of heroism.

Be yourself. Especially, do not feign affection. Neither be cynical about love; for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment it is as perennial as the grass.

Take kindly the counsel of the years, gracefully surrendering the things of youth.

Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune. But do not distress yourself with dark imaginings. Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness.

Beyond a wholesome discipline, be gentle with yourself. You are a child of the universe no less than the trees and the stars; you have a right to be here.

And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should. Therefore be at peace with God, whatever you conceive Him to be. And whatever your labors and aspirations, in the noisy confusion of life, keep peace in your soul. With all its sham, drudgery and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world. Be cheerful. STRIVE TO BE HAPPY.



(img source: pixabay)


@jazzybells

Sort:  

More than the poem, what struct me most is how your dad made time for you everyday. I have the utmost respect for Father's who are like that.

Thanks for checking out my post @thelearningman! My dad is the most devoted father I know and I'm grateful for him everyday. I just pray that I'm doing enough for my son to be the same way when it is his time to be a dad himself.

such a nice poem.it is good to hear that your father share this poem with you and see that poem also

Thank you @nain. Glad you like it :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JazzyBells from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94