YOUR REPUTATION YOUR LIFE! Guard it with your last breath

in #life6 years ago

A few weeks ago,

I was called by a former boss, who I happen to adore and trust so much and I was willing to give him my all at no dime to discuss a business model which he wants to thrust into action. He called me to seek my professional advice on how to go about his Social Media Marketing.Once again I gave him my all, though at a particular price. dm.jpg
image source

The same thing happened some days back when I saw a strange number calling my phone. The caller happens to be a co-founder of a startup who was in need of social media audit of competing brands. he said my former boss recommended me to him. I know some people will be thinking why the epistle above ? The answer is simple. Just like I tell myself every time I get jobs or I have an opportunity to serve in a particular capacity, I always give it my all because if you have a startup or a small business - your REPUTATION will either PRESERVE or PREVENT your future revenues.

Be intentional about how you serve people today. Don't be a waster. Even when you're serving people who cannot pay you your worth, still do it EXCELLENTLY. Don't joke with what people think about your skill, your service, and your product.

It may not matter much today. But it is feeding directly into whether people will pick up their phones confidently in two years time to call you when they need that product that you sell or recommend you to someone.

If a transaction isn't comfortable for you, TURN IT DOWN, instead of doing a shabby job. If a customer cannot afford your price, politely TURN IT DOWN, it is better to be rejected because you're expensive than to be accepted because you're cheap.

LET them say you're loud, let them say you're stingy, let them say you're strict, let them say you don't know politics, let them say you're not very sociable and you don't know much on #TheRoyalWedding or #BBN.

But never give anybody the chance to say you don't know what you're doing. LET NOBODY be able to say that you are INCOMPETENT. Let NOBODY be able to say that, they don't trust that you will do a good job. LET NOBODY be able to say that you're not DEPENDABLE.

Guard your REPUTATION jealously. Even in an example, don't have a POOR REPUTATION. It is the engine for your future revenues. It's an infinite asset. All your machines, buildings, products, packaging will be useless if you don't have a good REPUTATION.

If you have not been conscious of this, START TODAY.
If you really love this piece kindly UPVOTE, RESTEEM, COMMENT and FOLLOW @jaysmart

Sort:  

Congratulations @jaysmart! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jaysmart! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60946.76
ETH 3395.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57