HAPPY HIPPIE QUOTES #19 - CONVINCE YOURSELF!!!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

happy hippie3.jpg

“I am not what happened to me, I am what I choose to become.” ― C.G. Jung

I am certain that the first part of this quote is something that we can ALL relate to – the challenge however, is acknowledging and EMBRACING the latter part of it.

I have endured many challenges in my life that “should have” and “could have” made me bitter – could have made me ugly, or shut me off emotionally... BUT...

I have chosen the road less traveled.

tumblr_nph2khkvDI1s8w53po1_1280.jpg

I have made a conscious decision to understand and accept that - what has happened to me, does not define me. It does not and WILL NOT dictate my way forward!

Adopting this philosophy can be a little challenging in the beginning, but I can assure you of one thing… like I have said many times before… your mind will believe ANYTHING you tell it often enough! And if it means that you “lie” to yourself - just to kick-start the way forward, then so be it!

Keep that up and I promise you… not long after, you will realise that you are no longer trying to mentally and emotionally convince yourself… you are actually FREE from the chains of your past and living in the now… happily so!

We are all SO much stronger than we give ourselves credit for!

Today, I am going to refer to a song which I used to absolutely DETEST because it was so commercial…. Until a dear friend shared it with me at a time in my life when I was literally sitting at the bottom of the barrel. Suddenly, it meant something completely different to me and I have NEVER forgotten how positively it impacted my life at the time.

I used it... to "LIE" to myself...

It literally became my morning mantra… and then… one day – I woke up and realised that I had successfully convinced myself and I no longer “needed” to listen to it on a daily basis…

Enjoy xxx

WHAT IS HAPPY HIPPIE QUOTES ALL ABOUT...

People often say that motivation doesn’t last. Well neither does bathing – that’s why we recommend it daily! – Zig Ziglar

I am a total sucker for anything motivational and/or inspirational, I often spend a good amount of time browsing quotes online to share with followers on various other platforms so I figured why not make it a daily habit here on Steemit too :)

Despite the fact that I am a complete and utter tech junkie and I love so much about our modern world - (yes, there is a lot that I DON’T like as well… but keep up people… this is a happy hippy post), I have often considered the fact that I might have been born in the wrong era.

I have an insatiable love for anything 60’s!

So here I sit - in the 21st century, perhaps minus the bell bottoms but definitely not without the happy spirit, excessive array of colour (everywhere) and juuuuust a few gadgets to boot…he he!

Welcome to…

HAPPY HIPPIE QUOTES

Until next time…

Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea 3.gif

Sort:  

I like your post.

thanks :)

I am following you!! These quotes and articles make me feel better every day! Thank you very much!

Glad to hear that @amedeo!! :)

Take a bath daily? Once a year is enough ;-)
But montivation once a year... brr, difficult on. Where would I spend my yearly motivation on?

Nice motivation talk, especially nice on a Monday, we could use a boost of motivation on Mondays :) Thanks nice job :)

True story! :)

I heartily agree with what you are saying here.

It's one thing to have someone else victimize us. Far worse: When we victimize ourselves.

Thanks for your customarily keen insight, written so captivatingly.

Love that song. Video kind of bleh...but the song...ya baby.

Thank you @rik432 - I am thrilled you enjoyed it :)

Thank you. Fellow Capetonian.

hehe ;) pleasure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59404.52
ETH 2610.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41