Do it with PASSION or NOT AT ALL!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

dance-2982217_960_720.jpg

“Some of us get dipped in flat, some in satin, some in gloss...." He turned to me. "But every once in a while, you find someone who's iridescent, and when you do, nothing will ever compare.” ― Wendelin Van Draanen

I covered this topic a little while back – the topic of “excessively enthusiastic and expressive people” and due to recent encounters in my life, I wanted to re-visit it, because it really is something that is ever-present in my life. Not a burden, but sometimes a challenge when others don’t know how to handle it or when it gets interpreted incorrectly.

Some time back I can recall sitting in the lounge quietly observing my son and his little buddy watching cartoons together on the couch. The next thing and completely out of nowhere, Jude jumped up and launched himself in the direction of his friend, throwing his arms around him to give him a massively ENTHUSIASTIC HUGGGGGGG! Hehehe!


Image Credit

I think his friend nearly had a mini heart attack and was met with a fair amount of annoyance and resistance whilst repeatedly whining for Jude to stop it. Well, needless to say, he did not listen and as Jude continued to add more squeeeeeze to the hug – the friend resisted and whined even more, but Jude simply carried on…. until HE was satisfied that he had shown the appropriate amount of demonstrative appreciation to his little friend. (hehehehe)

I got such a good giggle witnessing that little “adoring episode”because I recognised a lot of myself in him in that moment. He had absolutely ZERO barriers with the demonstrative depiction of his emotions. He felt the urge to give his buddy a big fat hug and that was precisely what his buddy got… whether he wanted it or not lol.


Image Credit

When I look at this in relation to my own life and character - I have always termed it as the “Elmyra Syndrome”. Ever heard of Elmyra? You know… that RIDICULOUSLY annoying yet simultaneously cute little red headed Tiny Toons character who literally LOOOOVED all her pets to the point of complete suffocation and torment…lol. (She would be a red head too…lol)

“I am going to hug you and kiss you and love you forever.” – Elmyra Duff


Giphy Rules

Well, me… I am a VERY, exceptionally, RIDICULOUSLY demonstrative person, especially when it comes to verbalising my feelings about something or someone. (Annoying right! Lol) When I am emotional, I am EMOTIONAL on a very grand scale, irrespective of which way that may swing! This, I have found – can be rather overwhelming for other people. In fact, most just don’t know how to digest it… especially if it is aimed directly at them. This does not mean that it is always negatively received, but more often than not it takes the “receiver” a few moments to catch their breath and process what is happening or what is being said and how to respond… which can sometimes create rather awkward interims. But having said that - I simply do not know how to be any other way – nor would I want to be.

If and when I feel something on an emotional level, it is generally VERY highly charged and forcing it to remain internalised is almost painful and honestly just feels wrong. This is especially the case when it is positive emotion… If I do not express it outwardly it literally starts burning me from the inside out – ultimately reaching a point where I feel like I am going to spontaneously combust!


Image Credit

As an example, when I am EXTREMELY happy about something – LIKE REALLY, VERY HAPPY, I want to scream it from the roof tops, so, I generally do lol. There is an incessant need to express and revel in every aspect of that “feeling”. I don’t want to keep it locked away in a deep dark hole… what good would that do… and what purpose would it serve there?! In short… when I am happy, I am happy with all my heart and soul and when I am unhappy or angry, yeah, well…start running! Lol – Only kidding! (mostly) hehe!

Other people that are similar in nature, will definitely be able to relate to the fact that these demonstrative displays of emotion can sometimes leave you feeling like you have “crossed a line”… you know, those “oops TMI” moments… and it isn’t because what you have expressed was untrue, it is simply because after the elation, you suddenly become aware of the fact that the recipient might not have been prepared for that. Awkward! Having lived with “Elmyra syndrome” my entire life (hehehe), I have come to accept that PASSIONATE is what I do and who I am.... and THAT is OK! How other people perceive it, has nothing to do with me – that is entirely their problem. True story!


Image Credit

Passion generally comes as a complete package and there are no half measures. It doesn’t just penetrate certain facets of your life; it is acutely visible in all facets. It is WHO YOU ARE as an individual and there REALLY isn’t anything wrong with that! I would far rather have the levels of passion and enthusiasm that I do than to trade them in order to be rid of the odd occasions of awkwardness… Sorry, no deal!

I don’t think we should ever be afraid to express “who we are” and "what we feel" simply because of what other people might think of us or what we do. If you love someone – tell them and show them! Just do whatever your heart tells you to do! And screw the rest of it! Life passes by us so quickly and in my (humble and VERY expressive opinion lol) - honest demonstration of emotion should be embraced by the giver as well as appreciated by the recipient. Don’t ever let ANYBODY dull your spirit and enthusiasm… without it, there is no purpose to your life.


Image Credit

In fact, not only is passionate expression exceptionally important in a healthy maintenance of emotion balance, but it is also the primary and fundamental key to “making things happen” in life. When you give something your FULL PASSIONATE attention with highly charged emotion, you are showing your “intent and will” for “it” to materialise. You are literally throwing your energy at it if you will. Whether it is telling somebody how you feel about them, offering gratitude to someone by way of a “THANK YOU” ;) or focusing on a goal that you wish to accomplish… PLEASE don’t ever be afraid to do it with completely uninhibited, passionate enthusiasm…. In true Elmyra Style hehehe ;)

“Live your truth. Express your love. Share your enthusiasm. Take action towards your dreams. Walk your talk. Dance and sing to your music. Embrace your blessings. Make today worth remembering.” ― Steve Maraboli


Image Credit

Header Image Credit

Until next time...

Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea 3.gif


APP.png

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Just stay true to who you are. Who cares what would other people think about you. And because it's Jaynie shouting and Jaynie being happy, who doesn't love a Jaynie.

If you're passionate about something, don't restrain yourself from spilling all that you are.

Now, you can also express all this when the kids are ravaging your home the next time. Muahahahha

would you like some peas with that :P

True words, if we will hide our emotions, both emotional and positive emotions, it will start bursting inside, if your innerself wants to express then don't restrict yourself, do what you want to, if you are restricting yourself to express yourself because of, fear of others, means what others think about you, then i want to advice you that, no one have that much of time to analyse your actions, means they have their own stuff to do so why they will concentrate on you, first of all, we have to come out of the thought "What others think". You born alone, you breathe alone, you grown alone and you will die alone, means everyone is living their life, so don't add "Others" word to your dictionary. If you fail, then you only failed, that so called others not, if you succeed then vice versa. At last i want to say, always say to yourself as 'i am precious'. Thanks for sharing.

Have a great day and stay blessed.

Such a beautifully heartfelt response, thank you @chireerocks I really value your input x

Thank you and welcome. ☺

Dear @jaynie, I think the most wonderful world is one in which we can all not only feel free to be authentically and 100% ourselves... but a world in which we give ourselves permission to be just that. I love your effusive enthusiasm as it comes across here... and I'm sure I would "in person," as well.

We're each the sum-total of our biology and our experiences. And we're all different. And let's celebrate that. Falsifying ourselves in service of... what? Public approval? That's not healthy for us... and eventually we'll end up acting out on it, in a potentially NOT so healthy or appropriate way.

I know what of I speak, having grown up a sensitive "feeler" in a family that was all cold and aloof "thinkers." My "overresponse" to the freedom of being in college was not my finest time. Out of balance. That's the risk of repressing yourself.

So just be your fabulous and passionate self! (Not that you need my "permission" or encouragement, mind you...)

Firstly, thank you for the lovely compliment....

We're each the sum-total of our biology and our experiences. And we're all different. And let's celebrate that. Falsifying ourselves in service of... what? Public approval? That's not healthy for us... and eventually we'll end up acting out on it, in a potentially NOT so healthy or appropriate way.

You put that SO aptly!!! Love it - absolutely spot on!

And no, none of us need anyone's permission, EVER!!! I am certain though that your growing up years no doubt taught you a LOT about remaining true to yourself.

Hey @jaynie
Its nice post shared and beautiful article yoh chose to describe to steemian.
Mostly people are shy and didn't want to show there secret.
Keep shared & Loving

thank you very much for that positive input @nayyabsipra :)

Its my pleasure and welcome always

My level of passion when bananas arean't in stock for a day. https://giphy.com/gifs/dragon-ball-z-dbz-bDWdJRY2IZCX6

hahahaha!!! I can totally see that!!! lol

Awwwwweeeeessssooooommmmmeeeee.

Wow I love your post. First time of visiting your blog and you wowed me. Also, have never seen someone so beautiful as you since I joined 4 days ago. I have a question, are you the STEEM QUEEN? if not, you should be nominated huh? Good. Thanks for sharing once again.

hahaha!!! thank you for the lovely comment my dear! Glad you enjoyed the post xxx

Hi @jaynie its been a while, good post as always i believe anything worth doing is worth doing well, if its not worth doing well then we should not do it.
@phunke

Thank you for the comment @phunke and for taking the time to actually READ the post ;)

"I don’t think we should ever be afraid to express “who we are” and "what we feel" simply because of what other people might think of us or what we do. If you love someone – tell them and show them! Just do whatever your heart tells you to do! And screw the rest of it!"
Exactly, this is who I am - do you want to love me or not? If you are looking for something that is not me - so what are you doing here?

"Feel free to walk in the other direction" lol (not you... them! hahahaha)

Great post. Thanks for sharing this. Have a wonderful day. God bless

And thank you for taking the time to read it :)

Keep that fire burning.

Will always do my best ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60961.08
ETH 2363.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52