You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fabricated Perception: Living An Illusion

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I really enjoyed reading this post, @douglasbalmain. What a bizarre and rather wonderful experience. The mind does spectacular things, particularly in the shadows, and in darkness. I have had similar experiences, and it is startling, especially when you can't blink it away. You know your mind is creating something that is not there, but you can't not see it.

Many years ago when I was getting my masters degree, I lived in Boston on the weekends and in New Hampshire during the week, where I was attending UNH. One time a big storm was coming, and I wanted to get to Boston ahead of it, as I worked weekends there in a night club. Both the storm and darkness hit as I traveled south, and my sleep deprived student brain was over-taxed. I continually saw people darting across the road in front of me, and kept slamming on my brakes. This was out in the middle of nowhere, in rural areas and over trestle bridges. It was impossible that people would be running across the road, yet I was sure they were there. They vanished each time I stepped on the brakes.

Great description of the brain phenomenon. So interesting.

p.s. I've just started listening to your album. Love it.

Sort:  

It is interesting...and a bit disconcerting. It brings up that timeless, haunting question: What is real?

Thank so much for listening to my record—so glad to know you're enjoying it!

I love the sultry sound! I only managed to listen to one song so far, then I had to dash to work. But it sounded very R&B to me, which is so awesome and timeless. And you have a great voice!

"Sultry R&B"...that's high praise to wake up to—thank you for getting my day started off right!

I have it bookmarked so I can listen to the rest! 😊

That's great to hear! Just like writing is meant to be read, music is made to be heard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47