SURPRISE MUM! I just got the Snip (vasectomy)

in #life7 years ago

The choice of not having kids vs having kids.

My mother was super shocked that when I told her I just got the "snip". It was something I decided a long time ago, "I just didn't want kids and still don't". This may be confusing for some people to understand so this blog will discuss the reasons for not having kids and how my vasectomy operation went.


Image Source


The beginning of the end

So recently (yesterday morning) I went through the process of having a vasectomy meaning I am permanently sterile . A vasectomy in simple layman's terms is an operation where a doctor will snip the cords (vas deferens) that come from the testicles which go up into the prostate gland. Ectomy is the surgical removing of a specified body part hence giving us the word Vas-ectomy.


Image Source


Why no kids?

Most people always ask this question, I like to put it the other way around and ask them: "why do you want to have kids?" after they tell their reasons I reply with: "I just don't have those wants or reasons".

I believe It has a lot to do my early interest in Buddhism at a young age, I spent more than 8 months living at a Buddhist Institute and almost considered becoming a monk. One friend I came close to when I was there choose to be a nun and lives her life in service of the Buddhism and it's teachings and still does today.

Buddhism as a way of life and not a religion

The Buddha left his wife, child and all his riches behind to free himself from suffering, as he saw all life was suffering to some degree and having attachments like a "wife" or "money" were not true sources of happiness. He experienced that happiness comes from a state of mind within himself and not from "things" outside himself.

the buddha overcoming the demons within himself through meditation


Image Source

We could argue he liberated himself above his biological urges of money, security, attachments to people and just became content just being himself regardless of circumstances that surrounded him. I think we will find a lot of buddhist people will share a similar philosophy about life and their "want" for kids would be reduced compared to the average person.


Operation Snip

If you are considering a vasectomy I would highly recommend as a male for your own personal mental health that you do not look up "vasectomy videos" on youtube as this will probably put you off going through with the procedure.

Image Source

Firstly I had to do a consultation visit from there you can choose to go ahead with the procedure or not. There is a few options how the operation is done.

  1. Get it done in a doctor's clinic while you are awake for the operation. (The cheap way - $500 AUD)

  2. Get in done in a day surgery and be asleep for the operation. (Expensive $1500+ AUD)


The cheap way and my experience

During the consultation they gave me some valium to take before the operation to calm me down. On the day of the OP i was still a bit nervous to say the least so they nurse gave me a little hit of morphine to help me relax.

At this point i was all drugged up and showing my crown jewels to the doctor was all well and fun but what was not fun was the initial injection local anesthesia to the jewels. I was clamping my hands very tightly, it was pretty painful to say the least. The worst thing about it was it had to be done on both sides and the only good was the painful part only lasted a few seconds.

After that the rest of procedure was easy, I didn't feel a thing and it only took like 10 minutes. I could pretty much walk fine directly after the procedure and just the day after I feel fine like nothing happened, all in all a good result for recovery.


All written content is this blog is 100% original and created by me. Google+ Verification: ServantOfNone. Please Vote, Comment and Follow @jaycobbell.

Sort:  

Very nice 😉😉

I had a vasectomy last year and am still dealing with the pain on and off. Everyone has their own personal reasons for doing this surgery but I would not personally recommend it because of how unnatural it is and also the risks. They will tell you that the risks are less than 1% but I have a lot of trouble believing this. Anyways, I decided to go with the open-ended vasectomy which in my opinion was a big mistake as most guys develop granulomas which can be painful. Basically one side of the cut is left open and sperm leaks into your sac and your body attacks it by forming granulomas. My choice to go with the open-ended version was to avoid a more serious complication which is called a blowout. A blowout involves a rupture near the epididymis which is some of the most intense pain a man can have. Moreover, my other reason against this surgery is the fact that my orgasms are much less intense then before. Just my own personal experience which I hope others will consider before going through with the surgery.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65725.20
ETH 3370.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63