SOCIAL ANXIETY : INFERIORITY COMPLEX

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Inferiority-Complex-and-Social-Anxiety.jpg

image source

An inferiority complex is the lack of self-esteem , a doubt and uncertainty about oneself, and feelings of not measuring up to standards. It is often subconscious, and is thought to drive afflicted individuals to overcompensate, resulting either in spectacular achievement or extremely asocial behavior. In modern literature, the preferred terminology is "lack of covert self-esteem ".
Wikipedia

My History with it:

v4-460px-Get-Rid-of-an-Inferiority-Complex-Step-1-Version-2.jpg.webp

wikihow

When I was in secondary school( high school), I had friends and we're like a group. When high school came to an end and we all went separately to proceed to college and continue our education. Most of us tried once and was able to get admitted but I tried twice before j was admitted so are others as well. 2 years went by and I came across one of my friends, we used to be close then, he was the Head boy and I was the Liberian. We chatted and talked about things. We both gained admission the same year though but he has mingled with a new set of people and they've carried out businesses together , no he's earning hard though which means, we're literally not in the same level. I felt intimidated and bad, like have not been living up to my expectation. He talked about the fact that I went away and I stopped contacting him. We had a great conversation and we even played PS3 and laughed. We visited a friend together and getting there, they started talking about expensive shits, I don't have things like that and I felt left out.

After leaving the place, I talked to him and told him to show me the way as guy to guy. He smiled and brought up another conversation like he doesn't want to talk about it."No shit " I said to myself. When I was about leaving and looking for a bus to take me. He said "why not take a bike so you cab reach home faster". I listened but I can only afford half payment. He told the bike man not to collect any fee from me and offered to pay. I felt embarrassed but I thanked him anyways after we exchanged numbers.

When I got home, I connected with him on WhatsApp and we chatted for a while, then I asked him again, " how you dey do am my guy, show me the way abeg". He answered reluctantly and I got angry. Stopped chatting with him. O get weak and sad for days. Different thoughts kept running through my mind of how to get out of this position and role with the big guns. I couldn't find something to do. No one was ready to show me things. The fact that people are keeping things to themselves makes me annoyed more and I felt really overpowered.

This is not who I am, I tell myself. But humans change and the feeling still longs in my heart. Anytime I check my WhatsApp status and I check his status. I envy him and tell myself, " why is mine like this? ". Didn't we go to the same school?" And many other stupid questions. Time went by and after reading some motivational quotes and some scholar quotes, I got to realize that each and everyone has his or her own time. To put it simple, it's his time and I shouldn't rush. Things will work itself out. I didn't stop as well, I engage in so many businesses and it was around that time I joined steemit as well.

I thank God I was able to overcome my inferiority complex. Have heard about those that felt intimidated and go extra miles to meet up with the society demand. Some end up stealing and some end up committing internet fraud. I'm still here and am doing fine. I might not be doing fine as I want but all well and good I thank God. Though am poor but am not wretched and I'm still Doing fine than many of counterparts but am someone that doesn't like staying behind. What's the rush, I life hasn't even started yet.!

Inferiority complex couldn't take the better of me, don't let it drive you to your end. We all have our time, keep hustling, it will pay someday.

There are two types of Inferiority complex:

Primary:
This happens in the child's life where he experiences moment of dependency and weakness.

Secondary:
This happens in the life knan adult at the moment he experiences moments of low-esteem, low socioecominic status.

Do not let the feeling of inferiority drive you to your end. You can deal with it. Don't be intimidated.

@jaybhe writes.

         Thanks
Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Thanks for using the girlsfoundation tag as one of your tags. Don't forget to follow @girlsfoundation.
you can also support the girlsfoundation by following our curation trail using steemauto

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85