Petty Ticket from Highway Patrol - Traffic Rant

in #life6 years ago

So, I was heading home from work the other afternoon. I crossed the white line whilst changing lanes on my local highway making sure there were no cars coming off of the ramp like I always do. This particular afternoon I was greeted by Highway Patrol (5 of which were sitting on the side of the highway); they pulled me over and gave me a ticket for $162!

I didn't bother arguing, I did commit this "crime", but here is why I am upset: I believe Highway Patrol have certain quota to meet by the end of the month. Let's be honest, there were no real lives in danger here, I am the type of driver that actual checks my blind spot before I change lanes...I feel as though Highway Patrols should be making a real difference by pursuing greater threats/actual offenders.

The following day, I saw a young person on a unregistered quad circling in and out of traffic doing at least 80+ mph. Highway Patrol was in front of me, caught sight of this person and sped up a little. The young person enlarged the gap in between the Patrol and himself and the Patrol soon stopped pursuing. The young person on the quad then disappeared into the horizon heading Southbound...was he pursued/stopped/caught? Probably not...hey that rhymes...

Everyday there are motorcyclists that cut straight through traffic during rush hour, or I see people so clearly distracted because they are on their phones that they create dangerous situations involving themselves and innocent lives around them. But I am so upset, because there are so many times I've witnessed Highway Patrol turn a blind eye to these offenders. Aren't they supposed to create safer driving conditions/ environments? Aren't they supposed to prevent accidents from occurring?

A few months ago, my Mother and Sister was involved in a bad car accident. Luckily they are okay, the car is totaled...but why is it that someone travelling in the opposite direction can jump over the median and slam straight into them? The offender was clearly speeding and clearly not paying attention, but why was this not prevented? So now besides her car being totaled, having to deal with Insurance and Lawyers, they both now have to go to therapy because they have pinched nerves!

I need everyone on the road to taking driving a little more seriously, and I need Law Enforcement to actually do their jobs! Isn't there a vow that they recite upon graduation, or values that they uphold? I am so, so, sooo disappointed...am I the only one? Am I wrong for feeling this way?

Sort:  

Congratulations @jay2thaworld! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jay2thaworld! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56709.98
ETH 2329.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37