You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This series of stories will be titled 'I'm surprised I turned out as well as I did, given my childhood ...' 54

in #life7 years ago

Thats kind of amazing that you remember particular events that happened over 25 years ago, impressive. I'm at the age now where I've started seriously thinking about having children and still unsure because the world we live in seems to be in disarray. I don't know if that's a good excuse not to have children or just an easy cop out, but the state of the world right now has me second guessing for sure. I'll pass on the actual childbirth story haha

Sort:  

Good call! It was a little horrific and I wasn't even at the horrific end!

I remember making a decision when I was 15 or 16 that I never wanted kids. I held onto that until Trev (@s0u1) and I started getting serious. Then I realised that he did want kids and if I wanted to stay with him, I seriously had to reconsider.

I knew I wanted to stay with him and I also knew that to stay with him and deny him kids was not the right decision.

Here we are, 36 years later... coming up to 37 years together, with 2 kids and 3 grand-kids (2 step-grandkids).

Yeah, I think I made the right decision :)

That's awesome to hear that it all worked out in the end.

I am the oldest in my family and my mother is still without grandchildren , which I know she wants, so it has become a more prevalent topic recently. Still no pressure, but just need further consideration.

Take all the time you need. Live a little first, get some experiences under your belt. Kids are a lifetime commitment and you don't want to go into the decision with things left un-done, because it's a bit difficult to go off adventuring with kids in tow (although, I bet your mum would have them for a week or so) :D

She remembers everything. :)

Haha that might be a good or bad thing depending on what you've done @s0u1 haha

Trust me, it's not usually good... LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43