A Journey Towards Peace

in #life7 years ago

6th January 2017 … a day that will be etched in memory forever. A day where I finally bid goodbye to a working life !! Mind you, it wasn’t easy and the fears and anxieties that assailed me, drove me batty. What would I do after nearly 30 years of working and following the same routine? What would I do with all that time hanging heavy on my hands?

442842EE-C9D9-448A-A03F-67CE8718D493.jpeg

Being a firm believer, I should have known that the Universe had it all mapped out for me already and I was simply wasting my time worrying about things that weren’t in my control! But the human mind being what it is, mine went into self crippling overdrive and I drove my husband crazy too!

8C06160F-0A91-4E10-8EBB-1CE45558A715.jpeg

13 months and 2 days down the road, I quietly introspect and ask myself why did I worry so much? I mean, how did all that time go by so quickly? Why is it that I now find myself busier than ever before and yet happier? Well, the answer is simple … I was stupid to even think that my career defined who I was! Make no mistake, a career oriented woman is a strong lady for she manages to multitask by default. Run a home, raise a family, work in the office, pursue a career, contribute to the kitty at home, work at home, do the school runs and car pools and homework. A lot isn’t it? Gosh, no rocket science to wonder then why I was in panic mode at the thought of becoming a homemaker, especially with our daughter married and settled in her own home.

173833A2-AB94-4CC8-9C7C-FC84932D6637.jpeg

And that’s where the fun of my retirement began … grandchild number one was on his way and I was propelled into a totally different and yet hectic schedule. Only this was so much more rewarding, happy and exciting than fighting the monotony of an office, riddled with politics, where one is constantly forced to watch out for the ever present birds of prey, but more of that for another day. Seeing and experiencing the pleasure of holding our first grandchild is an indescribable feeling and for most of the following months, life revolved around this one tiny being, whose loud cries were enough to wake up the entire neighborhood. The little mite is now 11 months and happy in his new home in Sweden along with his doting parents, while I am busy pursuing new hobbies and old interests that I never had time for before.

4E80ECE9-B2E2-4C7F-8D68-B0296A6E94D2.jpeg

How much more have I opened myself up to? A world of traveling, spirituality, quilling and card making, crystals and healing, candle making and pursuing more dreams than I ever thought I would have time for. It is only now that I am beginning to discover who I truly am and what a journey it’s been … from the depths of despair to the heights of freedom, it’s been exhilarating, fun and, most importantly, an ongoing process of endeavoring to find my peace in a world filled with turbulence!

C36A38C8-0FEF-4C38-BB38-5AF3F3147026.jpeg

So to all of you out there, although this is my very first post on this platform, I daresay by way of advice … don’t become a slave to routine and work … there’s so much more untapped potential in each of us that is just waiting to surface !! Go out there fearlessly when the time comes and begin your journey towards peace and freedom !

Love, Peace and Laughter,
Jasmine

Pictures Courtesy - Pixabay

Sort:  

Routine life is of course boring! Yet, not many enjoy their retired life. You've done a great job carving the path for yourself. Good luck with everything!

@superstar2018 Thank you ever so much ! Steemit will hopefully be yet another avenue that I can explore.

This is such a wonderful introductory post Jasmine. Doing a job is definitely a tough thing to do especially while managing all your other responsibilities. Saying goodbye to it definitely relieves you of a lot of pressure and gives you freedom. Happy to know you are in a much better state of mind and being now and glad to you have on Steemit. Welcome :)

@sharoonyasir Thank you so much for your kind words, which are so encouraging to a newcomer like me! I hope to continue making friends on this platform and thank you again for welcoming me so warmly !!

Congratulations @jasnargol! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56554.08
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41