You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LIFE DRAMA: Our Experiences, What It Throws At Us And What We throw At it

in #life7 years ago

Excellent reflections, thank you. I appreciate your perspective, and your openness to learn from other places and cultures. I think this is the best way to try to understand "the meaning of life," because it is different everywhere.

Your post reminded me of the idea, "you can't be happy if you are searching for happiness." Personally, though this idea resonates with me, I am also attracted to the search, even if it's impossible.

I studied philosophy too, and I came to look at the question "what is the meaning of life," as an ill-formed question. In English, it seems like it makes sense... but is life the kind of thing that has something called "the meaning?" I don't think so, I think it's a trick of language to even think that sentence makes sense.

With the hypotheticals you ask, I would pose more, even further culturally from the Westernized world, to expand one's view... What if you are a Buddhist in the Himalayas? Indigenous, living in a tribe in the Amazon? Etc. etc.

Sort:  

😀
Amazing! Happy to know you studied philosophy. You also raised good questions! I think we get lost in this search because of 'civilizations'.

Thanks for your contribution. #followed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57459.91
ETH 2436.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38