You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I am evolving from a greedy profit focused STEEMIAN to a community member Pt. 1

in #life7 years ago

I'm glad to hear that your experiences on SteemIt have been positive. I connected with your comment:

primarily an introvert with set limits on how much I will connect with people

I am looking to expand my comfort-zone as well. Additionally, I just hit my 'Information Overload' a few days ago and even wrote about it: https://steemit.com/steemit/@jannell/trying-to-stop-the-voices-in-my-head
I haven't hit the paranoia stage, yet, but I'm sure it's coming. hahaha

Sort:  

Thank you. Yes the learning curve has been steep but It has been well worth it. I have always resisted connecting too deeply on mainstream social media platforms primarily due to the centralization of those platforms but also the monetization model they use. The fact that these platforms are selling our data and that we are paying them to do it in the form of our content and bandwith.

Many people are not aware that:

*50% of the average user’s mobile data is spent loading advertisements and trackers, which means users spend more on data plans every month than necessary.
*Advertisements take about 5 seconds to load over mobile devices, on average
*Ads decrease a phone’s battery life by as much as 21%
*Large media websites host up to 70 trackers on a single page, which means each user’s privacy is continuously violated
*Malware, including malicious advertisements and ransomware, have risen by 132% in a single year
Source: https://bitcoinexchangeguide.com/basic-attention-token/

I'm very thankful for Steemit.

Wow. I had no idea on those statistics. Makes me think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59