Youthful ApathysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

What are you gonna do with your life? That’s the question I get asked almost every day. Do you have a plan, a strategy? If you asked me I’d say no I don’t, am I worried?
No, I am not. When you turn 18 (or younger even) your entire family expects you suddenly know what your life is about, what your gonna do, how your gonna do it etc etc, and you can’t say what you really want to do cause half the time they see it as unrealistic. So you accept “realism” and conform to the norms of society, you go to school, and you do the best you can so that you can get into some fancy pretentious collage, and you do that so you can get a good job, and then you get married, have kids, and then all of a sudden your 45 sitting in front of a computer for 15 fucking hours a day, and you go home to a wife that loathes you and kids that you wish you’d never had, and then at the end of the day you finally get a second to sit down and ask yourself what the fuck happened.

I feel as if my generation is screwed, because instead of actually doing anything meaningful while were still young, we spend most of our youth planning out every little detail of our future lives, and then we get there and we realise that we didn’t get to do what we really wanted to. What really sickens me is that half us know this yet we choose not to do anything about it due to youthful apathy.

Everyone has dreams, but most us just sit around doing fuck all about it, waiting for someone to knock on the door and present us with the opportunity of a life time, which aint gonna happen.

I’m so tired of the endless monotonous repetition that life has become, we do the same goddamn thing everyday, wake up, school, work, sleep, and then its starts over again, but you can change it, if you want to, you just need to slow everything down, and ask yourself, what do you really want do, I’m not talking about big things, I mean right now, what do you want to do, think of something meaningless and depraved and go out and do it, embrace anarchy and debauchery while your still young enough to come back from it, trespass and get drunk in someone’s garden, screw inside a portable toilet, bang your head against the wall to see how many hits you can take before passing out, but your not going to, are you?, because your afraid, afraid of what your friends will think, what your god will think or what your parents will think.
Are you yourself, or are you what your parents made you to be?
Are you a dentist because you wanted to be one? If so fucking A, your on the right track, but if not, take a second to think about why your doing what your doing.
Do you want to start a band?, if so stop thinking about it and what it would be like and just go out and do it, and maybe it fails and you end up penniless, at least you tried,
Black Sabbath never would have gotten anywhere if they were realistic about life.

And now that I cant think of anything else to write I’m gonna wrap up my rant by saying this: if you want to do something you actually have to go out and try, if your a weirdo then be the best goddamn weirdo there is, and to hell with what everyone else thinks, if you leave everything up to fate then nothing you want to happen will ever happen.

Now if you’ll excuse me I’m gonna strip naked, wrap a sock around my crouch and run through the streets high 5ing anyone that passes me.

Sort:  

Then all of a sudden your 45 sitting in front of a computer for 15 hours a day, and you work from home ...and then at the end of the day you finally get a second to sit down and ask yourself what happened????
Dude that is my life🤦...except that it was my own choice..... I actually enjoy my work but steemit keeps me sane lol!

Ain't it the truth 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60004.45
ETH 2418.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43