Hand Grinder, Label Printer, Office Tools: Another Not So Boring Day at Work!

in #life6 years ago

Hello world! And hello Steemit! I hope you folks are having a blast right now, because today, I'm quite ecstatic to brag about something. It's something I've done during working hours, well, it started as a practice, but then turned out to be a nice thing to post here on Steemit. So I decided to document every step or process (well not each and every one of it, I skipped the little details which I think are not so important, and self explanatory). But before I start, let me present to you my greatest masterpiece yet! Feast your eyes on this!!!

image.png

It may not be perfectly made, but still, she's beautiful!

Okay, let's get it started, I was thinking of practicing on how to use some of the machinery here at work, and the one I find most difficult to use is this hand grinder, small as it may seem, but it packs a punch, it's very hard to control and since you'll be using this thing on small areas, your movements should be precise, perfect to say the least, there's quite little room for mistakes so I was challenged. "Alright hand grinder, today is the day that you will submit to my command!". Little did I know that this little fella's a feisty one and hates to be controlled, the more you squeeze on it, the more your hands hurt causing you to lose what little control you have on it.

The Process and All that Whatnot

Okay, so I have a productive thing to do today, instead of hanging out in front of the computer and browsing, I decided to practice hone my hand grinding skills. But first I'll need something to work with, so I decided to find something I can grind and found this little piece of metal. So, now I have something that can I use, then I thought "what to grind on this thing?", "my name? Nah, that would be lame." then an idea came to mind, "Why not the Steemit logo?", "so I can post it on Steemit and brag about it, lol.".
Now I have my work piece an idea of a pattern, now let's get to the design intent, I printed a Steemit logo on a sticker label then stick it into the metal piece as snugly as possible avoiding bubbles to prevent deformed image. Something like the image on the left.
Then I took an office cutter, the ones usually used in schools and offices and started cutting through the label leaving only the actual logo so I can cover it with paint later and my design intent would be done. It was kind of hard to cut out the actual logo, because every time I apply too much force, the cutting blade would slice a little of the metal, making it stuck and hard to move on to the next part, so I have to control the pressure I apply on the cutter to prevent the blade from digging deeper into the metal. As you can see on these images,
I removed the white part leaving only the dark parts which makes out the logo of our dearly beloved platform. We're almost done with the design intent, just a little bit more and we can finally visualize how out finished product would look like (or how I hoped it would look like, lol!).
Okay! design intent making part: done! now moving on to coloring the area where the grinder should not touch, it is necessary to point out which part of the work piece should not be touched by the grinder surface, if you skip that part you would look like working wearing a blind fold, you won't know on which part of the work piece you should stop grinding hence ruining your work, in this case I used a blue paint marker to cover the area that should not be touched by the grinding surface.
After I colored the area, I removed the remaining label stickers revealing the part where the grinder should run through. And now we're ready to grind this thing out! "It's grinding time!".

image.png

Now, comes the hard part! Grind on James, show that hand grinder who's the boss!

But kidding aside, this part really was the hardest, controlling the movement of the grinder, while the grinder hits the surface the actual grinder handle goes on a rampage and if you don't have enough control it would run all over the surface of the work piece, and it is in this part I failed most of the time, that's why my finish product has so many rough spots around the edges of the logo, it is specially hard to combine control and moving around the round edges, my hand would hurt from squeezing the grinder handle just to maintain control, and once your hand aches, you would have to raise the handle again, to take a short break, then you would have to restart from the beginning again, an endless cycle until your work is finally done. After a few attempts at trying to control this frigging stubborn grinder, I finally got the hand of it, though it may not show in my finish product, I have at least attained something from my practice session, I have somewhat grasped the sense of how you should handle the grinder, not too hard and not too soft, just soft enough to prevent the grinder from losing control, and hard enough to maintain stability.
These are the equipments and tools that I used for my grinding practice.

image.png


This concludes my article for today on how I practiced, and failed miserably, and practiced some more with hand grinding machine, well at least I'm satisfied with the outcome. If you want to more of my fail stories, tuts and escapades, and whatnot, follow me: @jamesanity06. This is @jamesanity06 saying goodbye, and have a wonderful day Steemit! James is bouncing off the building!


© @jamesanity06, 2018


jamesanity06.png
Damo nga Salamat! Maraming Salamat po! Thank you Very Much!

steemit footer.png
I am a part of @steemitfamilyph. Join us! Follow - Upvote - Resteem - Comment
Be a member of our Facebook page -- Join Us Here

Sort:  

Congratulations @jamesanity06! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Damn man I would have cut my hand on the hand grinder hahaha

Try not cutting or doing any damage to your hands man! It's precious, many people benefit from your posts and it's quite troublesome if you by any chance injure your hands. hahaha!

You got a 0.46% upvote from @upme requested by: @jamesanity06.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Great post @jamesanity06 :) I did not realize how little that piece you were working on was at first, it is tiny! I bet that is really hard to control. Pretty cool that you have access to tools like this. This was nicely written with your usual humor - thoroughly enjoyed this. Cheers - Carl

Thanks for noticing this little playful post of mine. At first I did not intend to make a blog about this thing, but then I thought "hey! Why not? Someone else out there might be interested.", and so I made a title which might be searched through google search engine, and went ahead and made a blog about my semi-productive not-so-boring day at work! Glad you liked it! Cheers!

@jamesanity06

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51